Fall Must-Haves

The weather here has already started getting a little colder, and I’ve unwillingly began wearing jackets or thicker sweaters on the way to work. As a result, my makeup has also moved on to the autumn season, and I’ve been gravitating towards darker, richer colours for my makeup.

Today I wanted to share with you my Fall Must-Haves. There’s something in every category of beauty, and I couldn’t help but add in some accessories as well.

Blushes

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Exposed, NARS Blush in Sin
Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Exposed, NARS Blush in Sin

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Exposed – I’m sure most of you have already seen rave reviews about this blush in the last few years, and there’s a good reason for it. This is a nude blush that it goes perfectly with any look you want to do. I personally like to wear it when I go for a smoky eye or a dark lip, just so my whole face isn’t too busy. Not too sure about the 12-hour claim though – by the time I get home from work, it’s usually been about 12 hours since I first applied it, and I’ve noticed that it has faded slightly. Nevertheless, it’s still a long-lasting blush!

Nars Blush in Sin – This is a medium plum with a frosted sheen. It looks similar to Exposed in the picture above, but Sin is definitely more purple-based, whereas Exposed is more tan. I love wearing plums for the fall, and Sin is especially beautiful because of the glow it gives to my face due to the sheen.

Lipstick

Processed with VSCOcam

Bite Lush Lip Tint in Blackcurrant – As the weather starts getting colder, my lips start getting drier. It can sometimes be difficult to wear darker lip colours with chapped lips. This is the perfect product for when I want a berry lip, but still want the product to give me hydration. Bite’s Lip Tints contain argan oil and vitamin E – it definitely keeps my lips feeling soft! In addition, the Sephora website says that the B in the center resveratrol, which is a type of antioxidant found in red wine. As the name implies, this is a lip tint and is meant to be sheer. If you want more colour, just apply a few more layers.

L’Oreal Colour Riche Balm in Caramel Comfort – When this range was first released, most of the shades in didn’t receive very good reviews due to the lack of pigmentation (ie. zero pigmentation, even on berry colours). However, I really love this particular shade for fall. It is sheer, but deposits enough colour to be noticeable. It’s an MLBB colour for me, and gives a beautiful shine. Again, my lips are more dry in the fall, and because this is a balm, it is a lot more moisturizing than some of my other nude lip products.

MAC Lipstick in Dark Side – This is a deep, vampy burgundy. In the tube, it looks very similar to the Bite Lip Tint, but because they’re completely different formulas, they look different on the lips. There are many variations of dark burgundy lip colours out on the market right now, but I’ve found that this is one of the most flattering ones on my own skin tone. It is also a cremesheen, so the hydration is better than a matte or frost formula. If the intensity of this colour scares you a little, you can always wear it with just one layer, and it will be more of a wearable berry stain.

Nails

Sally Hansen Hard as Nail Xtreme Wear in Golden-I, Butter London in All Hail the Queen, Sally Hansen Diamond Strength in Save the Date

Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear in Golden-I – This is a really pretty metallic rose gold. It’s odd, because when I look up swatches and reviews of this colour online, it looks like a true gold, but mine is definitely more rose gold. I wonder if This one is opaque in 2 coats, but you can get away with just one coat.

Butter London All Hail the Queen – This is a medium beige with a subtle holographic microshimmer – a really interesting polish! It takes about 2-3 coats for this colour to become opaque. This is my go-to choice when I want to wear something neutral, but still want a little sparkle and shine (which is all the time!)

Sally Hansen Diamond Strength in Save the Date – This is a vibrant plum with very fine shimmer. I am in love with this vampy shade, and get obsessed with it every fall and winter. This polish is opaque in 2 coats. An issue with this polish is that it feels like it never really dries completely – I actually have experienced this problem with a few other colours in this range. However, I always use a fast-drying top coat regardless of which polish I’m using, so the drying time usually is not an issue for me.

Perfume

Elie Saab Le Parfum – This has been a staple of mine for the last two autumns, which is the only time of year I wear it. It is a warmer white floral scent; on first spray, the top note of orange blossom and jasmine is easily detectable. As it settles into the skin, it gives off a warmer scent of patchouli, cedar, and rose honey (I had to look this up, ha!). It is definitely a more sophisticated scent. While I really enjoyed this pretty fragrance, I’ll be done this perfume in a couple of weeks, and I think I’m going to pick up something more youthful this time.

Accessories

I love rose gold as much as the next girl, but to be honest, I’ve never really invested in any rose gold accessories since it has become trendy. I found this rose gold necklace at Guess. I usually go for statement necklaces, but fell in love with this – it’s pretty delicate and simple, but still sparkly. It also comes in silver and true gold, but because I wear a lot of dark tops during the fall, I thought that the rose gold is a beautiful contrast against the darker colours.

Scarves

Really, any scarf is a favourite during autumn – the one in the featured image is just one of the many that I own. I bought this one during a sale at Reitmans last winter, and what I love about it is the contrast between the navy and the red. I’ve noticed I do tend to lean towards darker coloured scarves though, so now I’m in the market for some lighter shades, which will stand out more against all of my black jackets.

Let me know what your fall must-haves are, or if you’ve tried any of these products and what you think of them! I Do you have any suggestions on what perfumes I can try?

15 thoughts on “Fall Must-Haves

  1. I saw Save the Date by Sally Hansen and I was like “OH MUST GET!!” but then I realized that I already have it and love it!
    And just like luring lacquer said, Golden-I got reformulated a few months back, you probably picked up the new formula! It used to be a true gold. Sally Hansen’s Hard As Nails Xtreme Wear line has been reformulating some of their colours into significantly different shades, but recycling the name, kind of annoying

    Like

    • Haha, you’re funny! It’s a gorgeous colour, isn’t it? Glad you love it too!

      Interesting, I had no idea they did a reformulation and that some of their shades changed significantly! That would probably explain it. You’re right, they should come up with new names instead of reusing old ones so people know it’s a different shade entirely.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooh I want that Bite Lush Lip Tint in Blackcurrant… love lip tints that are dark looking in the tubes but applies sheer. I wonder how close that shade would be to the Clinique Black Honey (which I just rediscovered in my stash and am enjoying!)
    I still haven’t gotten into the Fall mindset yet but I should do a post like this… start letting go of some of the corals shades for plums and berries.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh, I’ve always wanted to try Clinique Black Honey! haha. I agree with you, sheer dark colours are nice on days you want a little oomph but don’t want to go all out with a dark lip!

      Would love to read your fall beauty post, if you end up deciding to do one!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

