First Impressions – Essence Lip Liners

I have never been much of a lip product gal. I’ve always used glosses or sheer lip products like the Revlon Lip Butters, and I’ve only started getting into actual lipstick in the last two years or so. Since I never used lipstick, lip liner has been even less of a priority to me, especially because it has always reminded me of the overlined lip trend from the 90’s. However, since getting into lipstick, I’ve noticed that my bottom lip doesn’t have a perfect clean line between where my lips end and my skin begins. I don’t know if this is the case for everyone, but it’s especially annoying when I want to go for a dark lip and can’t tell where to end my application.

IMG_2558a

With that being said, I’ve been on the hunt for some lip liners in the last while. I’ve tried a couple of different brands, some good and others not – it’s hard to know where to start as there are so many to choose from! I thought I would start at the drugstore first, then move into high-end brands if I decide that I really like using lip liners. This weekend, I bought two Essence Lip Liners for only $1.99 CAD each. They are the typical pencil-style liners that need to be sharpened using a sharpener. The shades I decided to try were #5 In the Nude and #8 Red Blush.

IMG_2561a

In the Nude is a beige-pink nude. On my own lips, it’s a shade lighter than my natural lip colour, which means it will be perfect to use with my nude lipsticks. The texture was really easy to apply and did not drag on the lips at all when used to line my lips. I applied it to my entire lip, just to give a good idea of what the shade looks like. It felt slightly dry when I applied it to my entire lip and emphasized my lip lines a little, but for my own purposes I don’t mind either of those things, as I don’t think I’d use it all over my lips like a lipstick anyways.

IMG_2564a

Red Blush is a deep berry red – it actually was darker and redder in person than it the picture below. The colour was very opaque and the formula was easy to apply; for lack of a better word, it was almost creamy, but dry enough that it doesn’t feather. I found this one a little less drying and did not emphasize my lip lines as much as In the Nude. As you can tell, it also made my lips look a lot fuller! Similar to In the Nude, I probably would not use this all over the lips as a base either. I’m really excited to get a lot of use out of this colour in the fall and winter!

PSX_20150928_095821

All in all, I think I will really enjoy using these. Correct me if I’m wrong as I’m a lip liner newbie, but I don’t believe that the dryness is a fault, as they are supposed to have a drier texture to keep it from slipping around. If anything, it’s worth giving these a try if you are curious – you can’t beat $1.99 for a lip liner!

2 thoughts on “First Impressions – Essence Lip Liners

  1. I’m not much of a lip product person either! I love tinted lip balms for how easy they are to apply. I’ve bought a whole bunch of lip liners a few years ago because Rexall was clearing out the Prestige line so I picked them up for cheap… and I’ve barely used them!
    I had a makeup artist at MUFE show me how to use a lip liner and that really helped – she taught me to draw from the corners and join in the centers – do this for both top and bottom lips.
    Do you apply lipbalm to your lips before you use the lip liners?
    These look like great “starter” colours for your (growing) lip liner collection!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wholeheartedly agree with you about tinted lip balms. They’re just so much less fussy than lipsticks! Hahah those sales get us girls every time…

      Interesting, thanks for passing on the tip. I just draw them however, so I’ll have to try that next time!

      I didn’t apply lipbalm to my lips in the pictures because I wanted to show what the product truly looks like on the lips on its own, but for normal usage, I would add lip balm underneath. My lips would hate me for not doing so!

      Thanks for the comment, my dear 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

