September Favourites

Today I wanted to talk about my favourites for the month of September. I’ve had less time than usual to get ready in the morning lately, so a lot of the products I used this month were items that made my makeup routine fast and easy.

Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Darling – This is a limited edition colour from the Tarte Off the Cuff Blush Palette released during Holiday 2013. The shade I’ve been loving from this palette is the middle shade, a medium matte peach-tan. It makes for a soft, natural-looking blush. If you missed this blush palette, Tarte is releasing the Bling It On Palette for the holidays this year, as they do every year for the holidays.

Jpeg

Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadow in RSVP – This is the perfect product for just sweeping it over my lids quickly in the morning, then dashing out the door. RSVP is a shimmery champagne the gives my eyes just the right amount of brightness. I love the formula of the Benefit cream shadows; as the name implies, it is creamy, but it stays in place all day.

 

Jpeg

Lunasol Eyeshadow Duo – Lunasol is a high-end brand available in Asia, and I bought this duo from their Fall 2014 while in Asia last year. This is another product for “quick eye look” days, but I use it when I want a more defined look but don’t want to deal with a big palette that offers a million choices. The shimmering sand and the medium warm brown go perfectly together, and are incredibly pigmented. The swatch is just one pass over the colours! On the negative side, this was a huge splurge – it was something ridiculous like $50 CAD for this duo…not sure what the hell I was thinking at the time (probably that it was my only opportunity to get Lunasol products and I should just snatch it up).

Jpeg

Smashbox Lip Enhancing Lip Gloss in Rose Gold – This gloss is a peachy rose-gold with gold shimmer, and is an absolutely gorgeous gloss for fall. It’s also a dupe for NARS Orgasm, except that this is less sticky than NARS, and the NARS gloss has slightly more sparkle than the Smashbox shade. I’ve been using it a lot lately overtop my nude lipsticks.

Jpeg

Benefit Watt’s Up Highlighter – I am currently using up my second sample of this highlighter, and am in love. Watt’s Up is a gorgeous champagne shade in a cream formula, and it doesn’t have any chunks of glitter in it, which is my biggest pet peeve with highlighters. When I use this, it gives my face a “lit from within” natural glow. In my swatch, I am showing what the product looks like right out of the stick, and what it looks like blended. So gorgeous!

Tarina Tarantino Eye Dream Hyperliner in Amethyst Android – I picked up a couple of Tarina Tarantino products at Sephora about two years ago just as the brand was discontinuing their products at Sephora (they are still available for purchase online from the Tarina Tarantino website). We often associate using brighter eyeliners with summertime, but I really love this vibrant violet for the fall and winter because it still gives my eyes a pop of colour without being too loud. Just as a note, I could not for the life of me get my swatch to show true to colour in photos, regardless of what lighting I used. It either looked too dark or too blue in my photos, but it’s a true bright violet.

Jpeg

The Body Shop Shower Gel and Body Butter in Satsuma – Now that the sun is going up later each morning and it’s getting colder out, I’ve been having a rough time getting up from my warm, cozy bed in the morning. The zesty scent of The Body Shop Shower Gel in Satsuma has helped immensely in waking me up in the morning. This scent also reminds me of my childhood, as the Satsuma range was a huge hit when I was a kid. It sounds silly, but I look forward to getting to smell this every morning!

And that’s it! Let me know in the comments what you loved this September!

3 thoughts on “September Favourites

  1. I had that Benefit Creaseless cream shadow but it CREASED on me! I was so excited to try it… I wore it so many different ways: alone, over primer, over other bases… it still creased and faded on my lids. My chemistry just didn’t gel with it.

    Oooh that Lunasol duo is a beaute! I do love the subtle shimmer of Asian eye shadows. Sometimes you gotta treat yourself – just think of this as a souvenir from our trip to Asia. 🙂

    “Amethyst Android” is an awesome shade name! I have the same problem with purple colours and photos. I normally have to colour correct by dialing up the warmth – it’s so bizarre but it’s a known thing: http://www.thephotoforum.com/threads/the-color-purple.236919/

    Liked by 1 person

    • How disappointing! It sucks when products work perfectly for one person but not another…it’s just not fair, haha! So much for “creaseless cream”.

      The Lunasol palette was the first time I’ve ever tried Asian eyeshadow, and you’re totally right – the subtle shimmer is gorgeous!

      Thanks for the link and the tip on turning up the warmth! I had a feeling that purple was a difficult colour to photograph…I googled swatches of Amethyst Android after trying to edit my photo, and none of them looked the way it does it real life! That forum was certainly an interesting read.

      Thanks for commenting! xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

