Matte Mauve Eye Look

Happy Monday! Hope everyone had a wonderful, relaxing weekend!

Two weeks ago, I did a first impressions post on the Tarte Tartelette palette. I’ve been putting the palette to the test since, and today I wanted to show you a look I’ve been loving. There are a lot of neutral tones in the palette, but since the last eye look I did was with neutral shades, I figured today I would share a purple/mauve look.

Products:
Tarte Tartelette Palette – Force of Nature, Natural Beauty, Best Friend, Bombshell, Free Spirit
Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner
Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler
Maybelline One by One Mascara

  1. Run Force of Nature through your crease with a blending brush. This will act as your transition shade.
  2. Place Natural Beauty on inner third of the lid.
  3. Pat Best Friend over the middle and outer corner of your lid, blending it into the transition shade.
  4. You can leave as is for a soft smoky look, but if you want a more defined lid, use Bombshell to deepen up the outer V
  5. Use Free Spirit as your brow bone and inner corner highlight. My personal preference is to use a shimmery highlighter for my inner corner and brow bone if I have matte shadows on my lid, but for the sake of using the entire palette in one eye look, I used Free Spirit as a matte highlighter.
  6. Line lower lash line with Bombshell. I found that this shade disappeared on my lower lash line very quickly, so I had to use a regular brown eyeliner for better staying power. I do think it would work perfectly fine for people who normally have no issues using eyeshadows as liners, though.
  7. Line upper lash line with eyeliner. I thought about doing a dramatic wing, but went with just a small flick with some liquid liner.
  8. Curl lashes and apply mascara

Excuse the horrid, straight lashes – I think my mascara is starting to dry up and is weighing my lashes down, but I haven’t had a chance to get a new one yet (any drugstore mascara recommendations, by the way?) Hope you like this look and are able to do something similar with what you own. If you have a favourite matte look, please share! I’m just starting to get into matte shadows and I think I love it.

3 thoughts on “Matte Mauve Eye Look

  1. Great matte mauve look! I should try to do something like this using my mattes – I have theBalm Meet Matte Nude palette that has a mauvey shade in it, I could use.
    As for a drugstore mascara – my HG at ANY price point is CoverGirl LashBlast, the one in the orange tube. I love that stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh please do try it out!

      It seems like CoverGirl LashBlast is a long time HG for many people. My short, stumpy lashes don’t look like they would work well with its huge wand, but I think I definitely should give it a chance anyways. Thanks for the recommendation!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

