NYE Eye Look: Midnight Mystery

Hello everyone! Today I was playing around with a New Years Eve party look. We have zero plans for New Years at the moment so I have absolutely no place to wear this look, but it’s fun to play with colours either way! It’s your typical dark smoky NYE look, but it was still fun to do!

Products Used:

Jpeg
Urban Decay Black Market, Wet n Wild Comfort Zone palette, Too Faced Pure Glam, Sephora Collection Mini Glitter Liner

-Urban Decay Vice PaletteΒ (Black Market and Laced)
-Wet n Wild Comfort Zone palette (top left highlight colour and bottom right definer colour)
-Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Laced
-Too Faced A Few of My Favourite Things palette (Pure Glam)
-Sephora Collection Mini Glitter Liner Set

1. After using eyeshadow primer on your lids, place a black cream or powder shadow to all over your lid. Don’t go too much over your natural crease. I don’t own cream shadow so I used Urban Decay powder shadow in Black Market, but honestly, I think cream shadowΒ would work better and give you a more intense look.

 

2. Use the Wet n Wild Comfort Zone palette and pat the definer colour in the bottom right all over the lid, right over the black shadow and going slightly above the black. This is a gorgeous shade with a reddish-brown base and a blue-green duochrome, and is a well-known dupe for MAC Club.

Jpeg

3. Place a highlight colour on your browbone – I just used the highlight colour in the top left of the Comfort Zone palette. Take a shade close to your skin colour and run it in your crease between the highlight and the lid colour to act as your transition shade. I used Laced from the Urban Decay Vice palette. If the duchrome shade has faded during the blending, reapply the colour to the lid.

Jpeg

4. At this point, you can move onto Step 5, but if you want a little more definition, use a black sparkly shadow to deepen up the V. I used Two Faced eyeshadow in Pure Glam from the A Few of My Favourite Things palette.

Jpeg

 

5. Run Pure Glam on the outer half of your lower lash line. On the upper lash liner, Use a liquid liner. I used the Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner. Usually, the shininess of this liner doesn’t really bother me, but because there was so much shine going on with this look, I think it kind of killed this look.

6. Use a glittery purple-blue glitter liner to line the inner half of the lower lash line. I used a mini glitter liner set from the Sephora Collection. Next, apply mascara, and false lashes if you prefer.

Jpeg

That’s it! I feel like the duochrome makes the look a lot more complex looking than it actually is. This was a lot of fun to do – I think I might do another NYE eye look – a lighter but more sparkly one!

14 thoughts on “NYE Eye Look: Midnight Mystery

  1. WOWEE!!! This looks absolutely amazing and PERFECT for NYE! πŸ˜€
    UD Lace is a fantastic transition shade – I should use it more often.
    I just love the effect of using a black cream base with shimmery duochrome colours. I agree, popping on a duochrome makes it look like you used 10 colours and blended for 2 hours lol. πŸ˜›
    Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL. I’m glad you like! πŸ™‚
      Not sure why, but I always have to force myself to use UD Lace…I think because the colour is SO subtle with my skintone that sometimes it doesn’t work that well as a transition shade!
      Do you own many duochrome eye shadows? I’m always so attracted to them but don’t actually own many!

      Like

      • I am drawn to duochrome eye shadows like moth to flame! I have MAC Club and a bunch of dupes for that including the shade from the Wet n Wild Comfort Zone palette. I also have MAC blue brown pigment which is really difficult to wear – the brown under tone is really reddish looking, and the more you blend, the redder it looks – I look like death with it!
        MAC Vex is one of the earliest duochromes I bought – it’s a green / pink shift that looks amazing over a dark cream base.
        One of my most cherished duochrome eye shadow is a discontinued Shisiedo cream shadow called Spring Plum. It’s a plum to green shift that is soooo pretty!
        Perhaps I should devote an entry to my duochrome eye shadows ha!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I meant to tell you – I saw at Shoppers that the whole Sally Hansen Diamond Strength polish range is on clearance so I think it’s being discontinued! I remember you like the shade Save the Date (I wrote it on my wish list!) so maybe it’s time to get a back-up! Unfortunately the display I saw was really picked over and Save the Date was already all gone. None of the other colours interested me! I’ll definitely keep an eye for Save the Date…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

