Happy New Year and Blog-Related Changes for 2016!

First off, I want to wish everyone a very Happy New Year! I hope 2016 holds wonderful things for you all.

2015 was a really wonderful and memorable year for me. I hit many major life milestones (most of which I will talk about in this post), went on two wonderful trips, and I started my blog in September!

I usually only talk about snippets of my life on my blog, and I have no plans to begin making my blog super personal anytime soon. However, there are some changes in my life that will affect my blog, so I wanted to give a little life update today on what happened in 2015 and how that will change my blog. Sit tight, ladies and gents – sometimes I can’t shut up so this is going to be a long one.

1. We Bought A House!

After 8 months of looking for a house, my fiance and I found the perfect place in November. We’re both really excited because we’re in love with this home, and it’s going to be our “forever home”, at least until for the next 15 years or so. We haven’t moved in yet as we are starting from scratch and buy all-new furniture and décor. We’ve been going furniture shopping every Saturday for the past six weekends for like 8 hours straight (with no plans to stop in the near future), and I’m getting pretty sick of it already!

My blog is predominantly about beauty, so I have thought about whether or not I should talk about home décor. However, I started my blog with the intention of it being a lifestyle blog instead of a beauty blog because quite frankly, I don’t buy or own that much makeup and would run out of things to talk about eventually! My point is, I started my blog to talk about things that interest me, and that includes home decor. I don’t foresee tons of posts on this subject – maybe once or twice a month at most!

2. We’re Getting Married!

I mentioned this in my Hawaii blog already, but I wanted to talk about it in a little more detail. With both of us having Type A personalities and me having control issues, we have already done the very basics of wedding planning like setting a date, having a rough headcount, and creating a shortlist of venues we’ll request more info from in the next two months. As an accountant, I am also already obsessed with our wedding budget…haha. In regards to my blog, I am interested in writing some wedding planning posts. Again, I won’t overload my blog with wedding stuff as it’s not everyone’s cup of tea – probably one or two posts a month.

3. I Have a New Job!

This one is actually not that exciting and has weighed heavily on my mind lately. I have taken on a new, much more challenging position at work in the past two months. It’s a great opportunity, and, the economy in our city is really bad right now so I feel lucky I still have a job. But I feel like I’m in  WAY over my head and generally feel terrified most of the time. I keep telling myself to put on my big girl pants and just get over it…but it’s hard. A lot of the excitement about the new house and engagement has been dampened by work stress, which is upsetting because those should be huge and happy milestones. I’m not sure what to do. Do I stick it out, or do I get the hell out ASAP? Part of me wants to just run, but then that just means I’m running away from my problems, and that’s just not me.

Anyways, what does my work have to do with my blog? Well, I’ve been spending substantially more time at work since starting my new position, and am finding it hard to keep up with my blogging schedule. On top of that, I come home from work with no mood to blog because I’m feeling on edge and am physically and mentally exhausted. However, I don’t want to quit blogging because I find it therapeutic, and I’ve also met some wonderful and very creative bloggers in the few months that I’ve been blogging. Another thing is that I don’t want to throw in the towel after only 4 months of blogging – again, that’s not me! So, not sure what to do.

 

Long story short, my life does not feel like my own right now. New house, new soon-to-be husband, new job – this was not my life at all when I started my blog a few months ago and between the three, I feel a little like I am drowning. I’m a little disoriented and feel like I’m going through a quarter-life crisis!

 

Low-Buy Plans for 2016

In the next year and a half, I will be spending money on many things that I wasn’t spending on before. This includes fun but expensive stuff like the wedding and buying furniture, as well as not-so-fun stuff like paying for a mortgage. I feel like I’m good enough with my money to be able to continue spending the way I normally do, but I really shouldn’t. I’m also finding myself at a point where I keep wanting to hoard more and more makeup, but knowing that I definitely don’t need any more makeup. As a result, I will be going on a Low-Buy in 2016.

My budget in 2016 is as follows:

January – $50
February – March – $10/month
April – $100 (for Sephora VIB sale)
May- October – $10/month
November – $100 (for the Sephora VIB sale)
December – $50 (for Boxing Day sales!)

This comes to a total of $380 and applies to makeup, skincare, and beauty tools for my own use. $10/month might seem ridiculously low, but there are honestly some months where I actually buy no makeup at all, and some months where I go over, so I think this is actually reasonable for my low-buy. The following is not count towards my budget:
1) Beauty gifts for others do not count towards the total
2) Replacements for products I have finished up and need to repurchase. I think this will mostly apply to skincare, although I think I might include mascara as well, since I replace this every few months and don’t have backups readily available.

img_5946
This will NOT be me in 2016.

This will be an interesting year to do a Low-Buy. Any other year, I think it wouldn’t be too bad, but I feel like with my new job, I will feel like lots and lots of retail therapy. I suppose my therapy will have to come in the form of ice cream instead, which fortunately is not part of my Low-Buy 😉

I’m looking forward to this challenge and seeing how well I do!

8 thoughts on “Happy New Year and Blog-Related Changes for 2016!

  1. Geez, basically every major life milestone happened to you in 2015!
    Congrats on the house – it’s going to be your ‘baby’ now, haha! And planning the wedding too… another ‘baby’. 😉
    I think many of these things are so new that it will take time to settle into them. The house won’t have that novelty feeling forever. And the wedding plans will eventually be done. And you will settle into your job. But while it’s all new, it’s a lot to absorb and find balance – it’s ok!
    In short, cut yourself some slack. The blog will still be around. You’re not accountable to anyone. So what if you don’t update weekly – it’s your hobby, you can do whatever you want.
    I like your budget! 😀 I think Low-buy is catching on!
    I love that Sephora pictures – it cracks me up every time I see it! 😆
    Happy New Year! I hope 2016 is your best one yet!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Happy New Year to you too!! 🙂

      Thank you! Haha there are definitely two ‘babies’ this year…although I’ve realized that I get antsy when we go furniture shopping for too long, and my SO gets antsy when we plan the wedding for too long, so I suppose the house is his baby and the wedding is mine 😛

      You’re right, hopefully everything will feel less overwhelming once things are not so new anymore. Thanks for the support! 🙂

      I’ve always wanted to attempt a low-buy, and when I saw you succeed in your no-buy in 2015, it definitely made me want to try a less hardcore version!

      Hehe, it cracks me up every time too…mostly because we know that’s exactly what happens…

      Like

  2. Haha! Your Sephora pictures are awesome! Congratulations on everything! That is a TON of new, exciting & stressful life changes. I have an idea of how you feel; in a matter of 4 months my first son was born, got engaged, bought a house and got married. It’s a lot to handle but you’ll get through it! Don’t worry about your blog, it’s supposed to be fun,l. Just post whenever you feel inspired! We’ll all be here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the support, Stacey! Holy crow, I definitely think you take the cake in terms of “Ahh I feel overwhelmed!” moments – I can’t imagine going through 4 major life milestones in a span of 4 months, especially one of them being having a baby, which is probably the biggest milestone of life!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It was definitely the most intense 4 months of my life! Sometimes I wish everything didn’t happen so fast so that I could have enjoyed the processes more but it all worked out in the end! I’m also going to join you in your low-buy this year! It sounds like a good idea & my bank account would appreciate it 😬 x

        Liked by 1 person

  3. So many LIFE changes! Congratulations…on everything! I hope the very best in this new year and for great success! Relax girl! Take everything one step at a time, you already have it all laid out, you just need to convince yourself you have it figured out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the congrats, my dear! 2016 will be a big year for you, so I hope it treats you well too 🙂
      Thanks for the encouragement. It’s hard to be okay with my life when all aspects of my life are so scary and new right now, but you’re right, just take things one step at a time and everything will be fine!

      Like

Leave a Reply

