Makeup I’m Trashing

While I’m on my low-buy, I thought I should take the opportunity to organize my makeup collection and get rid of all the things I don’t use anymore.

First, I wanted to do an inventory count of how much makeup I have in each category so that I could have a better sense of how much I own, and then decide what I want to get rid of. I don’t own nearly as big a collection as most makeup lovers, but I don’t think one needs to own a lot of makeup to say that they love makeup. Anyways, regardless of how big my collection, the amount I own is still too much for my liking.

This is the result of my inventory count, which includes minis and sample-sized products:

Eye shadows (including shades in palettes) – 119
Nail Polish – 59
Perfumes/body mists – 19
Lipsticks/lipglosses – 17
Eye shadow Palettes (anything larger than a duo) – 13
Blushes – 12
Highlighters – 10
Primers – 5
Bronzers – 4

Looking at the count, I have a pretty reasonable collection. Most of my eye shadows come from palettes, which is why I have so many. Out of this stash, this is what I have decided to get rid of:

IMG_2691a
Red Hot, True Love, Cold Stone, Mystic Night, Wine & Dine

Quo by ORLY mini polishes – I don’t know why I held onto these for so long, but I am trashing 14 mini Quo by ORLY polishes because they are all dried up and goopy due to the fact that they are SO OLD – my mom bought me this 18-piece set for Christmas in 2011! I love minis because I can never finish a full-sized bottle, and it was a gorgeous set that I got a lot of use out of. One of the remaining four was thrown out a long time ago, and the other three (all greens and blues) I am keeping as they haven’t dried out.

IMG_2692a
Old Hollywood, Very Vixen, Love Game, Filthy Rich, Night Sky

 

Jpeg
Rock Star, Precious, Rock Show, Garnet

These four had been depleted long ago, but I kept them around because I wanted to find dupes for them. The two on the end look the same in the picture, but Rock Star has orange shimmer running through it, and Garnet has white shimmer. I LOVED these polishes because the shimmers made them such interesting, nuanced shades. The reds are probably easier to find dupes for, but I haven’t been able to find anything similar to the two in the middle. I think it’s time for me to let go, so these are going in the trash 😛

IMG_2703a

IMG_2702a

Nyx Eyeshadow Trio – I got this eyeshadow when I first started watching YouTube videos about 7 years ago and the Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencils were all the rage. I thought the brand wasn’t available in Canada, but realized that Rexall carried Nyx products, so I bought this trio. Well, I think I’ve used it about 3 times in 7 years. The shadows are decently pigmented, but when am I ever going to use straight-up pink eye shadow? The lightest shade is a nice highlight, but I have so many highlight shades that I won’t be missing it. The random quote on the packaging cracks me up though. I suppose since I’m getting rid of this product that I’m no longer a Sexy Babe 😉

Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush in Plum Wine – This is a really pretty shade, but it’s old and I rarely ever reach for it anymore. I find cream blushes a pain to use because I’m not very good at blending them out, so I might as well just trash it.

IMG_2696a

MAC Eye Shadow in Iris Print – This shadow is 10 years old – Google tells me that it’s from the CultureBloom collection from 2006, LOL. I’ve kept this around for sentimental reasons only. It was my first MAC purchase and also my first “high end makeup” purchase. I bought it on a trip to Vancouver with a friend when I was 16, where the SA did my makeup, and I walked away with this shadow and a gorgeous peachy gold shadow called Gleam. These were the only shadows I owned at the time, and I spent the next two years exclusively wearing Gleam all over my lids and Iris Print in the outer V – the two paired well together because Iris Print is a matte purple with gold glitter running through it. I used Gleam up before I hit university, and as you can see, I hit pan on Iris Print but never finished it. Now that I’m a little more well-versed in makeup, I realize that it’s powdery and the gold glitter doesn’t translate well. Seeing as it’s 10 years old, I’m going to scrape the rest of the shadow out and Back to Mac this baby – no point in holding onto it, even if it’s sentimental.

 

IMG_2701a

Sally Hansen Diamond Strength No Chip Nail Color in Champagne Toast – I bought this a few years ago when I was looking for a pink. It’s sheer, which wasn’t what I was looking for, but I did use it quite a few times. Now it’s old and goopy, so it’s going in the trash.

L’Oreal Nail Colour in Walk on the Beach – I never use to be into nude polishes, and this was my first nude polish purchase. It’s a pretty shade, but I found it a bit streaky. It still works decently but is starting to dry up. Since I have added a few more nude shades to my collection since buying this one, I’m saying bye-bye to this one.

IMG_2708a

Gosh Effect Powder in Apple Jam – So, fun story about this product…the pigment got everywhere as I was trying to take pictures of it for this blog post – all over the white surface I use to take pictures on, on the other products I was taking pictures of…this, ladies and gentlemen, is why this is going in the garbage. I found this in the clearance bin at Shoppers Drug Mart about five years ago. This was when I was more adventurous with makeup and actually wore colours on my eyes. It’s a pretty shade, but when am I ever going to use sparkly green shadow? Every year, I keep telling myself to keep it around in case I ever decide to be Tinker Bell for Halloween…yeah, not happening.

IMG_2709a

That’s it for everything I’m throwing out – not a huge amount, but it’s a good start. After getting rid of these products, this is my inventory count:

Eyeshadows (including shades in palettes) – 114
Nail Polish – 43
Perfumes/body mists – 19
Lipsticks/lipglosses – 17
Eyeshadow Palettes (anything bigger than a duo) – 13
Blushes – 11
Highlighters – 10
Primers – 5
Bronzers – 4

I didn’t throw away a drastic amount, but my low-buy is always the perfect chance for me to use up some of my makeup this year. At the end of the year, I am going to do another round of throwing products away at the end of 2016 when I have gone through another year and realized that there were some products I never touched for the whole year.

12 thoughts on “Makeup I’m Trashing

  1. You definitely have a very reasonable collection! I should set some goals to whittle my stash to something more reasonable… I mean, what am I trying to achieve with 150 blushes? 😮
    I really dislike mini nail polishes, I think I should tackle that first. Thanks for this idea!
    Oh my gosh, look at that pan on the MAC Iris Print! That’s AMAZING. Yes Back to MAC that sucker!
    Loose pigments are in theory, really nice and pretty to look at, but in reality – such a PITA!!! I’m still debating if I should toss my loose pigments… but they’re so PRETTY.
    Great job on the trashing – I like how every item has a story. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bahah. I would love to own 150 blushes! Although it must be hard deciding which products you want to use. Putting my face on in the morning would be such a dilemma…”Hmm, which of my 150 blushes shall I use today?”
      How come you don’t like mini nail polishes? Is it because of the size of the brushes?
      I remember the good old days when I only owned 3-4 single pan eyeshadows from MAC or UD, and it felt like such an accomplishment when I was able to hit pan/finish all of them…that will never happen now that I own all these palettes 😦
      Toss those pigments! We are all victims to keeping things because they’re pretty, but then it just makes our collection mushroom!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re right. I just need to LET GO. Pigments are getting the boot (I will try to re-home them to someone!)
        Yes, the mini polish brushes are just the worst. I am never happy with how they apply even though the colour / formulas might be good. I fall into the trap of thinking they’re less of a commitment than a full size polish but they just end up collecting dust.
        It’s funny, I am making a conscious effort to rotate my blushes – just think, with 150 blushes, on average I’m using a shade about twice a year! 😆
        (thanks again for releasing my spam messages! 😀 )

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yay to pigments getting the boot, haha. There will be someone in your life who will surely make good use of them!
          You’re right. While I love mini polishes, their brushes definitely leave a lot to be desired. In the trash they go, too! 😛
          That’s crazy when you think about it…twice a year! haha. It would take the rest of your life to get through that stash if you never threw any of them out!
          No thanks needed at all…I wanted to read your comment myself! 😛

          Like

  2. You definitely have a very reasonable collection! I should set some goals to whittle my stash to something more reasonable… I mean, what am I trying to achieve with 150 blushes? 😮
    I really dislike mini nail polishes, I think I should tackle that first. Thanks for this!
    Oh my gosh, look at that pan on the MAC Iris Print! That’s AMAZING. Yes Back to MAC that sucker!
    Loose pigments are in theory, really nice and pretty to look at, but in reality – such a PITA!!! I’m still debating if I should toss my loose pigments… but they’re so PRETTY.

    Like

  3. Thank you for doing this! It’s a great reminder that not everyone who loves makeup has to have a huge collection, especially when a lot of times all we see is people on Instagram with entire rooms dedicated to storing their makeup.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, it’s hard not to want a roomful of the latest releases in makeup when you see it all over Instagram, YouTube, etc, etc. Sometimes you just have to ask yourself whether it’s reasonable to own so much when you use so little of it every time you put your face on!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ll definitely be going through all of my makeup now! Thanks for the inspiration! I’m a makeup hoarder and I don’t hardly even wear makeup… it’s bad. Thanks for sharing! I’m excited to read more and get more inspiration from you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

