Shopping My Stash

Since I am doing a low-buy this year, I thought that this would give me an opportunity to dig out some items that need a little more loving from me, and start using them on a more regular basis.

I have a pretty manageable makeup collection, so I’m generally able to use all the products that I own every once in a while. However, I still tend to default to the same ones over and over again (I’m looking at you, Urban Decay Naked Palette and Tarte Off the Cuff!) Because of this, I decided to shop my own stash in order to incorporate my lesser-used products into my makeup routine. I have stowed away my most loved products in a drawer (out of sight, out of mind) and am keeping 9 products out on my desktop, in my line of sight, so that I’ll use them more. A lot of the items I have chosen are eye shadows, which is the product that I own the most of. It only takes a bajillion years to get through eyeshadow so I know I’m not going to get through any of them this year, but I really just want to make it a point to use them more often. Keep reading to see which ones I chose!

Eye Products

IMG_2706IMG_2704a

Tarina Tarantino Jewel Eye Shadow Palette in Magical – The shades in this palette are gorgeous, and the quality is top-notch. I use the taupe shade on the right side of the palette on a regular basis as it’s one of my all-time favourites, and I also use the white shade as a highlight quite regularly. The other three shades are rarely touched – but I am going to make a point of incorporating them into my makeup routine (in fact, wearing the peachy-pink shade right now!)

IMG_2711a

 

Smashbox Trio in Rose Gold – This came in a Smashbox Rose Gold set I got for Christmas in 2014. These shadows are so pigmented, and the texture and pigmentation of the matte highlight blows my mind. However, this trio rarely gets used, so this is one of the products that I’m going to try to use more often this year.

IMG_2714a

MAC Eyeshadow in Beautiful Iris – I got this when I took 6 items back for the Back to MAC program. It’s a really pretty colour, but I rarely reach for it. I’ve realized it’s a little too cool-toned for my skin, so I’m determined to find a way to make it work…otherwise I might just give it away.

 

Jpeg

 

Lunasol Eyeshadow Duo – I spoke about this duo in my September Favourites post. I used it constantly that month, but since then it has been nowhere to be seen in my makeup routine. This is mostly because I tend to go for my big palettes, and often forget that I own it.

Coffret D’Or Full Smiles Eyeshadow Palette – I believe Coffret D’Or is a Japanese brand (misleading French name!) Similar to the Lunasol Eyeshadow Duo, I bought this palette on a trip to Asia in 2014.  The colours are soft and shimmery, typical of eye shadows from Asian brands. I use the taupe shade every once in a while, but this palette in general does not get much use at all.

IMG_2713a

 

Cheek Products

IMG_2698a

NARS Illuminator in Capacabana – This is a teeny sample sized highlighter that was part of a NARS 500-point perk I got from Sephora in 2014. I haven’t touched it once! I swatched it for the first time for this blog post, and it’s a pretty cool pink highlight that reminds me of Benefit’s High Beam, which I used to own but threw out sometime last year because the smell changed on me.

IMG_2699

Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Exposed – I featured this product in my Fall Must Haves. I really, really love this blush. The neutral tone makes it a great go-to for any look, regardless of the season, but again, I always forget that I own it because I always go for blushes that are part of a palette instead.

Lip Products

Jpeg
Revlon Lip Butter in Peach Parfait, Maybelline Colour whisper in Pin Up Peach

I went on a peach frenzy last spring, trying to look for a peach shade that looked good on me. I ended up buying these two shades, both of which are really pretty, but I kind of just stopped using them after a while.

Revlon Lip Butter in Peach Parfait – This is a medium peach with gold shimmer. I really love the shade and how shiny this looks, but I don’t like that glitter chunks remain on my lips after the colour fades. There’s not a lot left so I do want to use up the rest of it, if only just to say I used it up.

Maybelline Colour Whisper in Pin Up Peach – This is a more sheer, pinker peach than Peach Parfait, and also has no shimmer. It has a very moisturizing formula, and it has a sweet smell that took me forever to pinpoint – it smells like Fruit Loops!

All of these are really good products and I’m looking forward to giving them more of a chance. Updates to come a few months from now regarding how well I do with this initiative!

Is there any makeup you own that you’re putting an effort into using more this year?

17 thoughts on “Shopping My Stash

  1. Shopping my stash has proved to be quite enjoying last year! I rediscovered lots of things that have been neglected. I too, stow away a lot of the excess into drawers and other nooks and crannies.
    I LOVE the look of that Tarina Tarantino palette! I hvae one from her too, in the colourway in Dreamy which is more warm toned:

    And oooh that Lunasol Eyeshadow Duo! I need to start doing research into Japanese makeup brands in advance of my trip!
    I am making an effort to rotate my blushes more… today I pulled out theBalm InStain in Houndstooth. I’m embarrassed to say that I haven’t even rotated my summer blushes out! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s awesome! I hope I’m just as successful as you were, and don’t neglect my rediscoveries after two weeks…
      Oooh, I saw Dreamy when Tarina Tarantino products were still being carried at Sephora. Wish I had picked that one and a bunch of other palettes up while we had the chance, her shadows are beautiful!

      Eeeee, can’t wait to see your Japan haul! There are so many brands you can’t get here, it’s going to be a month’s worth of haul blog posts on your blog!

      Pretty soon you’re gonna have to start layering blushes so you wear each one more than twice a year!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

