Pink and Purple Valentine’s Day Look

We’re not all that big into Valentine’s Day in our household; if anything, we just use the holiday as an excuse to try out a more expensive restaurant that we’ve been meaning to try, regardless of whether it has an romantic atmosphere or not.

Either way, I still find it fun to do Valentine’s Day looks on Valentine’s Day. Most years I usually go with a pretty neutral pink and brown look, but for today’s post I decided to try something a little different – pink and purple! I pulled out my Too Faced Le Grand Chateau palettes, which has pretty much not been used at all since I bought it for Christmas. It was handy because they had all the colours I wanted to use in the look.

Jpeg

Products used on eyes:
Too Faced Le Grand Chateau palette:
Le Marais – White with iridescent pink
Fifi – medium matte taupe brown
Je t’aime – medium frosted pink
Provence – cool purple with blue shimmer (as expected from purple shadows, the swatch in the picture didn’t turn out true to life *sigh*)
Tres Chic – Deep purple-black with purple glitter
Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil Bronzer
Stila Stay All Day Liquid Eyeliner
Too Faced Better than Sex Mascara

Products Used on Face/Lips:
Too Faced Le Grand Chateau palette: Blush in Tres Fab (Medium neutral pink with slight sheen)
Smashbox Fusion Soft Lights in Rose Gold
Shiseido Perfect Rouge Lipstick in PK307 Tourmaline

As always, I list each product I used for every step, but can always be replaced with whatever similar shades that you have lying around!

IMG_2746a

  1. Place a transitional colour in the crease to help blend your colours together (Fifi).
  2. Apply a shimmery pink shade all over the lid (Je t’aime).
  3. Take a dark purple and apply it to deepen your outer V (Tres Chic). I actually used a very dark purple-black with purple glitter, which looked darker and more dramatic in real life than in the pictures. Also take this colour down to the lower lash line.
  4. Place a medium purple in the middle area of your lids to help transition between your dark purple and pink (Provence).
  5. Highlight the browbone and inner corner with a shimmery white (Le Marais).
  6. Do a winged liner on your upper lash line with some liquid liner (Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner).
  7. Apply mascara to top and bottom lashes (Too Faced Better than Sex).
  8. Because all of the colours I chose were cooler shades, I used the Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil Bronzer to warm up the look, then I used the Tres Fab blush from the Le Grand Chateau palette as I wanted to keep everything I used for the look in the pink family. I then mixed all of the shades in the Smashbox Fusion Soft Lights in Rose Gold to use as a highlight.
  9. Since my eye look was a little darker, I wanted a lighter lip to balance everything out, and decided to go with the Shiseido Perfect Rouge in PK307 Tourmaline.

IMG_2751a

It’s quite strange because this shade looks pretty warm and medium-toned compared to most pinks, but on my lips it looks much more cool-toned and even neutral. I think it’s because my warm complexion makes it look cool in comparison. I keep searching but have yet to find a warm pink that remains warm-toned on my lips, and it’s really annoying! The Perfect Rouge formula is amazing though, and one of my top 3 lipstick formulas – so glossy and hydrating on the lips.

That’s about it! What types of look do you do for Valentine’s Day (if any?)

10 thoughts on “Pink and Purple Valentine’s Day Look

  1. Oh I just love the look of Je t’aime! And what perfect name for this Valentine’s look. I’m going to have to look in my stash to see if I have anything similar…
    Lipsticks can be so tricky – do you have pigmented lips by any chance? A lot of lipsticks turn into a bright fuchsia on my lips! It’s quite frustrating.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

