Fresh Skincare – Black Tea Line

I have been a user of Shiseido skincare since my teenage years, and rarely stray from the brand. However, I realized while going through my samples in January that I had a bunch of skincare samples from Fresh, so I decided to test them out this month. I received three items in the Black Tea range and two products in the Creme Ancienne range. Today’s post will talk about the Black Tea line.

It takes me forever to get through skincare products, and the sample packets of the Black Tea range took me about two weeks to get through. I don’t think two weeks is enough time to allow one to see any long term effects of a skincare line (whether positive or negative), but it is enough time to see short term effects. For the record, I also admit that I am not at all well-versed in skincare ingredients, but have included the ingredients for those that are interested.

The Black Tea range claims to be full of antioxidant-rich ingredients. One of these ingredients is black tea ferment, more commonly known as Kombucha, an antioxidant meant to help reduce the appearance of fine lines and firm the skin. Because I have mid-20’s skin with a few fine lines under my eyes, I don’t have the best type of skin to test out the firming abilities of this line, but I will share my general thoughts on the products.

To no surprise, all of the products in the Black Tea range have a strong scent of black tea. I personally loved this scent, but this may be an issue for people with skin sensitive to fragrances, or those that just prefer not to have fragrances in their skincare.

Fresh Black Tea Age-Delay Eye Concentrate

As per the packaging, the Age-Delay eye concentrate is meant to hydrate and visibly reduce fine lines. The full size of this product retails at $78 for 0.5 ounces. This eye cream contains noni fruit juice, which is a juice with anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial properties, and helps to retain moisture. I liked that this eye cream was light enough to wear under my eye makeup, which I usually don’t do because it creases my eyeshadow. It also didn’t cause milia, which is often a problem I have with eye creams. However, it wasn’t moisturizing enough for the skin around my eyes, and after a couple of days of use, I found that my eyelids and undereye area had some dry patches. This eye cream also didn’t make the fine lines under my eyes any less noticeable. According to the Sephora website, this eye cream is supposed to have a cooling formula which helps to reduce the appearance of dark circles. I have a MAJOR problem with dark circles, and I can say that I felt any cooling sensation, or any effect on reducing the appearance of my dark circles.

Ingredient List:

Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Squalane, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Pentylene Glycol, Steareth-21, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Saccharomyces Ferment Filtrate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Morinda Citrifolia Fruit Juice, Saccharomyces Cerevisiae Extract, Litchi Chinensis Seed Extract, Rubus Fruticosus (Blackberry) Leaf Extract, Acacia Senegal Gum, Adenosine, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate, Tocopherol, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Glycerides, Glyceryl Hydroxystearate, Steareth-2, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Sodium Polyacrylate, Fragrance, Dimethicone, Silica, Propylene Carbonate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Maltodextrin, Tromethamine, Hydrogenated Palm Glycerides, Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Biosaccharide Gum-2, Caramel, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Algin, Bht, Sodium Citrate, Tin Oxide, Citric Acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Potassium Sorbate, Serine, Biotin, Linalool, Phenoxyethanol.

Fresh Black Tea Age-Delay Firming Serum

The package says that this serum is used for firming and defining. According to Sephora, this serum is supposed to have a ‘corset-like’ effect on the skin, a description that made me laugh and shake my head. I found the formulation to be really sticky and difficult to apply evenly on my face. It was moisturizing enough for my cheeks, forehead, and chin, but not for my nose. After using this for a couple of days, I found my nose area to be super flaky. However, I feel like there are serums out there that deliver the better results with less stickiness to deal with. The full size retails for $75/1 ounce or $98/1.6 ounces.

Ingredient List:

Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Jojoba Oil PEG-150 Esters, Pentylene Glycol, Methyl Gluceth-20, PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Acacia Senegal Gum, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Rhizobian Gum, Xanthan Gum, Saccharomyces Ferment Filtrate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Rubus Fruticosus (Blackberry) Leaf Extract, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Leaf Extract, Litchi Chinensis Seed Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Acetyl Dipeptide-1 Cetyl Ester, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, PEG-150, Squalane, Lecithin, Carbomer, Sorbitan Laurate, Sorbitol, Parfum (Fragrance), Sodium Acrylates Copolymer, Maltodextrin, Algin, Sodium Hydroxide, Polyquaternium-51, Adenosine, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Lactic Acid, BHT, Cellulose Gum, Sodium Citrate, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate, Biotin, Linalool, Citronellol, Phenoxyethanol.

Fresh Black tea Age-Delay Cream

The Age-Delay cream is meant to moisturize and smooth. It contains lychee seed extract, which is supposed to help lock in moisture and maintain tension in the skin. The consistency of this cream was thin, which I liked because it meant I could use it as a day cream. However, I have dry skin, and found this to be REALLY greasy, to the point where I stopped using it as a day cream because it was too greasy to put makeup over top. On the first two days of use, it felt like it didn’t absorb into my skin at all…it just kind of sat on top, to the point where I still felt it on my face when I woke up in the morning. The longer I used it, the more it felt like this product absorbed into my skin better, but it still felt too greasy. This cream retails for $90/1.6 ounces.

Ingredient List:

Water, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric/Succinic Triglyceride, Cetearyl Isononanoate, Pentylene Glycol, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Steareth-21, Cetyl Palmitate, Hydrogenated Coco-Glycerides, C10-30 Cholesterol/Lanosterol Esters, Ethylhexyl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Saccharomyces/Xylinum Black Tea Ferment, Litchi Chinensis Seed Extract, Rubus Fructicosus (Blackberry) Leaf Extract, Moringa Pterygosperma Seed Extract, Hexapeptide-10, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Rosa Damascena Flower Oil, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Hippophae Rhamnoides Oil, Ribes Nigrum (Black Currant) Seed Oil, Hydrogenated Evening Primrose Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Acer Saccharum (Sugar Maple) Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus Fruit Extract, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Adenosine, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate, Retinyl Palmitate, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Palmitic Acid, Stearic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Butylene Glycol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Polyacrylamide, Tetrasodium Edta, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Sodium Hydroxide, Maltodextrin (Maltodextrine), Silica, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Laureth-7, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Caprylyl Glycol, Caramel, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Disodium Phosphate, Citric Acid, Hexylene Glycol, Sodium Citrate, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491), Potassium Sorbate, Propylene Glycol, Propyl Gallate, Biotin, Citronellol, Geraniol, Bht.

All in all, I think this line was just okay. My skin didn’t react negatively to it, but it didn’t seem to have much positive results either. I personally don’t think it’s worth the high price tag for the full-size products. For those looking for hydration and firming, there are more effective skincare products out there for better prices. I would not purchase the full size given the price point vs the minimal benefits.

6 thoughts on “Fresh Skincare – Black Tea Line

  1. I’m trying to imagine what black tea smells like… I’m more familiar with green tea scents. Hmm.
    I honestly don’t buy ANY product claims of helping with dark circles on a permanent basis. If the product contains mica, it may help to reduce the LOOK temporarily.
    Haha corset for your face! 😛 Silly marketing people. I hate sticky serums!
    Crazy how greasy that cream must be if even YOU found it to be too much!
    Good to know about these! I’ve never been interested in Fresh skincare… just doesn’t seem to be targeted for my needs. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m absolutely awful at describing fragrances so I’m not even going to try haha…green tea is a lighter and more refreshing scent compared to black tea.
      You’re right, there’s nothing topical that can reduce dark circles. I’ve had mine since I was young, so good luck getting rid of those babies.
      Haha, “corset for your face” is such a ridiculous description. This was the stickiest serum I’ve ever tried! Not a pleasant experience.
      Heh, I was thinking the same thing about the cream – oily-skinned ladies stay away!
      I’ve never been interested in Fresh skincare either – seemed to not produce AMAZING results considering the value of the products.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

