Fresh Skincare – Creme Ancienne Range

Last week, I covered my experience using the Fresh Black Tea skincare range. Today I wanted to chat about my experience with the Creme Ancienne range, which is definitely the more expensive line of the two. I managed to get deluxe samples of the Creme Ancienne range, so they took longer to use up and test than the Black Tea line.

During my research into these products, I read that the ingredients in this line are supposedly hand blended in a Czech monastery. They use an updated version of a recipe from the 2nd century, which is when the first cold cream was invented. The monastery statement was a major “WTF” for me, but whatever.

Fresh Creme Ancienne Ultimate Nourishing Honey Mask

I’m sure many of us (myself included) have tried a DIY honey mask before. Honey is known to have many skincare, in particular its anti-bacterial and anti-inflammatory properties. For some reason, I’ve never really found that my DIY honey masks give me any noticeable results, so I stopped doing them after a while.

Although Fresh’s Nourishing Honey Mask looks exactly like honey in the jar, the consistency is much thinner and much less sticky than real honey, and was really easy to spread across my face. It has a graininess to it that reminds me of the texture of slightly crystallized honey. Before washing my face, I used these grains to lightly buff my skin. The second I splash water on my face, the grains dissolve.

Strangely enough, I went to Sephora to check out the full-sized tester of this product, and the texture was different than my sample – it was smooth without any grains, and had an actual cream texture. I wonder if they used a different formulation for samples, or if the honey in my sample had actually crystallized.

The instructions say to rinse the honey mask off after 8-10 minutes, but I kept it on my skin for 30 minutes without any negative results. Once I wash it off my face, my skin feels extremely smooth, soft, and supple. I usually do my masks on Friday night before bed, and when I woke up on Saturday morning, my skin still felt softer than usual.

This mask looks and smells like it is straight-up honey. I LOVE honey, and I gotta be honest: the second time I used this mask, I did try to take a tiny lick and it is definitely not edible! I did some Googling afterwards and realized it’s only 38% honey (whoops)…if my sample had looked like the one in stores, I probably wouldn’t have tried to taste it :/

Ingredient List:

Mel (Honey), Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Peg-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Jojoba Oil Peg-150 Esters, Pentylene Glycol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Propylene Carbonate, Echinacea Purpurea Extract, Sucrose Laurate, Hippophae Rhamnoides Oil, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Rosa Damascena Flower Water, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Osmanthus Fragrans Flower Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Tocopherol, Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Sodium Metabisulfite, Citric Acid, Limonene, Citronellol.

One thing that may be of concern in the ingredients in the lemon peel oil, which may irritate sensitive skin. The major downside? The price of the full-size of this mask is $165 for 100 ml.

Pros:
-Skin feels soft after use
-Thin texture that makes it easy to use

Cons:
-Expensive

Purchase the full size? No, unless I win the lottery. Depending on how much money we have left in our wedding budget for beauty, I may purchase this to use leading up to the wedding, just because it makes my skin feel so amazing…but it’s unlikely.

 

Fresh Creme Ancienne Soft Cream

Similar to the honey mask, the price tag of this cream is a little ridiculous. The full size retails for $164/30 ml or $328/100 ml. The price of the 100 ml jar is $3.28/ml, which means that my little 6 ml sample would have been $19.68!

This cream has a really strange but interesting texture. When I touched my finger to the cream in the jar, it had a bouncy texture which I would compare to…pudding. The description of this product says it has a “whipped” texture, but I did not find that mine felt whipped at all. I could not find an in-store tester of this product to compare, so I’m not sure if the texture is the same, or different from the large version like my honey mask was. It has a very faint fragrance that seemed slightly medicinal to me (I’m terrible with fragrances) and probably wouldn’t bother most people.

On the face, this cream feels weightless and non-greasy, which makes it a good cream to use under makeup. I think the lightness of this cream would also make it a good choice for normal skin. My skin didn’t react have any negative reactions to it, but it didn’t do any wonders to it either. Basically, it gave the same results as my other face creams, which are much less expensive. Although the Soft Cream worked pretty well on my dry skin in the mild winter weather we’ve been having, it just wasn’t quite hydrating enough for my nose, which is the driest part of my face. I started off using this for both night and day, but it just wasn’t quite moisturizing enough, so I went back to using my regular night cream, which is much heavier.

The Soft Cream is supposed to be a lighter version of the original Creme Ancienne, which I think it would make a better all-around face cream my skin type. Considering the price tag on this item versus the limited benefits I saw for my skin, it wouldn’t be worth it to purchase the full size.

Ingredient List:

Aqua (Water), Glycerin, Neopentyl Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, Petylene Glycol, Methyl Trimethicone, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Extract, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Ormenis Multicaulis Flower Wax, Echinacea Purpurea Extract, Tocopherol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Sodium Steroyl Glutamate, Parfum (Fragrance), Sodium Hydroxide, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Benzyl Salicylate

Pros:
-Light texture
-Would work well for oily, normal, and dry skin types
-Inoffensive fragrance

Cons:
-Expensive
-Not hydrating enough for very dry skin

Purchase the full size? No

Given the price, I would never tell anyone to go out and purchase these, especially without trying it out first. It would definitely be worthwhile to ask for a small sample of these to try out if these seem interesting to you.

7 thoughts on “Fresh Skincare – Creme Ancienne Range

  1. Haha Czech monastery. That’s like the story of The Face Shop The Therapy line, which is some secret 200 yr old European formula. *eyeroll*
    It could be that the temperature inside the Sephora store is warmer so the honey has melted slightly? I know that Sephora is ALWAYS so hot inside! 😛
    Hahaha I see the trend of tasting our masks is catching on! Just don’t eat too much or else we’ll go blind (I always think of the soap scene from A Christmas Story! 😆 )
    What – this mask retails for $165?!! Are they smoking crack? There’s absolutely NOTHING in the mask or the face cream that would warrant that kind of price tag. I had NO clue that Fresh skincare was so pricy – wow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL. Such a silly marketing ploy. Maybe that’s why this line is so expensive, because they’re handmade by monks 😛
      That’s a good point, the difference in texture could very well be due to the temperature!
      Haha, I felt so silly trying to taste that mask, but the next day, you posted your Lush mask review and how you tried to taste yours too, and I didn’t feel so silly anymore. Curious people have higher IQs, am I right? 😆
      Yeah, I did a double-take when I looked up the prices of the full sizes of these. The other lines in Fresh seem much more affordable, no idea why this one is so much more expensive. I really love how that honey mask makes my skin feel though, boo 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

