Majolica Majorca Mascara Review

Today I wanted to share my experiences with the Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Edge Meister. I heard about this brand through YouTube a few years ago, but never got my hands on it until I went to Hong Kong in October 2014. This means that this mascara has been sitting in my makeup collection for the last year and a half. I often buy mascaras when I see them on sale, but only use them one at a time since they dry out so fast. This results in me having a stash of unopened mascaras in my makeup drawers, but I don’t find that the formula is any different than ones that are opened right after purchase, most likely because they are still sealed.

Anyways, I finally broke this mascara out three weeks ago, so I’ve had plenty of time to test it out and gather my thoughts on it.

IMG_2822a

When I bought the mascara, I hadn’t done any prior research on which mascara I wanted, so this was pretty much an impulse buy. Not only that, but it was a blind purchase since the packaging is in Japanese, which I can’t read. Apparently, Majolica Majorca is a drugstore line owned by Shiseido and aimed towards a younger target market. As expected with a product from a Japanese brand, the packaging is very cutesy.

The Lash Expander Edge Meister (hereinafter referred to as the Lash Expander because ‘The Lash Expander Edge Meister’ is a mouthful, not to mention kind of a silly name!) is a fibre mascara. When I first opened the tube, I was freaked for a second just because I wasn’t expecting it – I thought that the formula had gone moldy or something. These fibres are probably the selling point of the mascara, but again, I can’t read the packaging.

Jpeg

The wand is made of plastic and is in the shape of a comb. I’ve seen this in North American brand mascaras in recent years, but have never tried it myself. The side shown on the bottom in the photo has longer teeth and is meant for the upper lashes, while the top side has shorter teeth and is meant for the lower lashes. The point of the comb applicator is to help separate the lashes, but I have found the opposite to be true because glops of mascara can get caught between the teeth. Upon first application, my lashes clump together more easily than a traditional mascara wand because of these glops, although it wasn’t too hard to brush the clumps out and redistribute the mascara using the comb. The size of the applicator allows you to easily get into lashes in the inner corners.

The fibres are a hit or miss depending on your preference. I found them to create some minor issues during application. You never know where the fibres will land, and it’s impossible to get them into the exact position you want them unless you plan to spend half an hour doing your eyelashes. When I applied the mascara, fibres would fall onto my eyelashes in a weird position (say, horizontally instead of vertically like natural lashes). They can be moved around quite easily with the comb applicator, but then you risk over applying mascara, which leads to clumping. Sometimes fibres will just happen to land near the end of your natural lashes and extend them, which is pretty cool. The gist is, every time you apply this mascara is like rolling the dice because you never know what you’re going to get (although each time has worked out for me so far).

Jpeg
After 8 hours of wear

 

The formula of this is very watery, which is not usually something I look for in mascaras because they tend to make my stick-straight, weak and sparse lashes wilt after just an hour, even with only one coat. I was super impressed with what an incredible job it did of holding the shape of the curl all day, which often doesn’t happen even with my favourite mascaras. I was a dolt and didn’t apply the mascara onto my bottom lashes for this picture, which I took at 6 pm after a day of work – as you can see, the curl held up really well. I haven’t been wearing this mascara on my bottom lashes to work because it gives my eyes a really doll-like effect, which I personally think is too much for work (hence why I have no mascara on my bottom lashes in the picture – should have taken it on a weekend!)

A major disappointment is that the Lash Expander does not create any volume whatsoever. After opening this mascara, I discovered during my research that it doesn’t claim to create volume, so obviously I can’t fault the formula for not being able to do something that it never claimed to be able to do in the first place. This is more of an observation for someone interested in this brand and wants something volumizing.

What the Lash Expander lacked in volume, it made up for in length. I wear glasses to work, and a couple of times, I found my eyelashes rubbing against my lenses whenever I blinked. This has only ever happened when I got eyelash extensions!

I had absolutely no issues removing this mascara with the MAC Cleanse Off Oil. There have been a couple of times when I didn’t feel that any fibres got onto my lashes, but when I took my makeup off at the end of the day, I saw tiny little short fibres on my cotton pad.

Although this mascara may be a little harder to find in North America, I found this on Amazon.com for roughly $16 USD, which isn’t really drugstore price for us. Unfortunately, I can’t remember what I paid for this mascara!

Pros:
-Does an amazing job of holding a curl
-Gives great length
-Does not flake
-Does not smudge

Cons:
-Fibres can be troublesome to work with
-Does not create volume
-Not readily available in North America

If I ever get the chance, I would like Majolica Majorca Lash King next, which is supposed to give length AND thickness.

Have you tried any Asian brand mascaras before? What were your experiences with them?

5 thoughts on “Majolica Majorca Mascara Review

  1. I had this! It wears like IRON. Holy crap, I couldn’t believe it. Unfortunately for me, the waterproof-ness (is that a word?) or the fibres irritated my eyes. I could only wear this when I layered a non-waterproof mascara. I did REALLY like the comb applicator – created amazing length on me – that’s so cool your lashes hit your glasses! And yes, it held my curl like nothing else – that was probably my favourite aspect of this mascara and why I decided to layer it underneath non-wp mascaras.
    Have you tried Fairy Drops? That one is popular too. I tried it from Sephora and I didn’t love it because it’s waterproof but the wand is neat:

    Like you said on my post, I don’t think having it sit in your stash unopened changes its performance. I’ve got so many unopened mascaras in my stash!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Are you allergic to waterproof mascaras? Or just don’t like them? Too bad this one irritated your eyes, because it seemed like you also had a really positive experience with it otherwise. Glad you pretty much had the same experience as me in terms of creating length and the ability to hold a curl…it’s CRAZY! It’s going to be so awesome when you’re in Japan, you can go wild getting Asian makeup. I wish I had done my research before my trip!
      I’ve never tried Fairy Drops but have also heard lots of good things about it (haven’t ever seen it in any of our Sephoras, I don’t think). The wand looks super interesting! And the packaging with the “Catch!! Curl Up!! Fabulous!!” cracks me up.
      I have one more unopened mascara and then I’m done with my stash…time to stock up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

