April-June Empties

Today I’m sharing the products I finished up in the last three months. It’s been kind of interesting keeping all of my empties so see how much I’ve used in a three-month span. I’m always surprised at how little I get through! I have no idea why, but it seemed like I was particularly slow at using up products these last three months, for some odd reason.

P_20160710_175849a.jpg

BODY CARE

The Body Shop Shower Gel in Honey

The Body Shop shower gels are always a go-to for me. However, I don’t know why I bought the Honey scent as I didn’t like it. After I started using it, I found it to be too strong and cloying. I still have a Honey body butter in my stash to use up *sigh*

Repurchase? Not this particular scent.

 

The Body Shop Body Butter in Grapefruit

Now THIS scent I love! I only used the body butter periodically since my skin is drier in the winter than in the summer, so it didn’t need such a heavy moisturizer every day. This is one of my favourite scents from the body shop – so refreshing.

Repurchase? Yes!

 

Bath and Body Work Triple Moisture Body Lotion in French Lavender & Honey

The BBW Triple Moisture Body Lotions only provide decent hydration for my skins – it’s good enough for the spring and summer. I like that it’s not too sticky feeling though. I have a lot of these lotions (not in this particular scent) in my stash to use up, so I’m trying to get through them this summer. This scent was only okay – I love the combination of Lavender Honey – there’s an ice cream shop here that makes lavender honey ice cream as one of their seasonal flavours every summer. I love it, but my fiance says it’s like eating soap. That being said, I did find the scent kind of soapy. I feel like part of the reason why I bought it was just because I’m drawn to anything French inspired 😛

Repurchase? No

P_20160710_180007.jpg

MAKEUP

Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Edge Meister Mascara

I reviewed this mascara here. I bought this on a trip to Hong Kong, and hadn’t opened it in two years! It was a really good lengthening mascara with fibres, but didn’t give any volume. This tube was starting to dry up, so I had to ditch it. I would love to try more Majolica Majorca mascaras in the future, but they are hard to come by!

Repurchase? No

 

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

I think this should technically go under samples, but whatever! This is my second tube of the Better Than Sex Mascara. The first tube I owned, I had tons of issues with smudging despite all of the rave reviews it got. This second tube worked a lot better for me, for some reason. I happily used this, up until I began using the Becca Under Eye Brightening Corrector – this is when the mascara started smudging underneath my eyes again. Since it was starting to dry up at that point anyways, I just trashed it.

Repurchase? Maybe

 

Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner

This has been a long-time favourite of mine. I love how dark the liner is, and how easy it is to line my upper lids with this. It does have a bit of a glossy finish, which some people may not like. However, I find that the tip wears down quite quickly after first use, making it harder to get a fine point or do a wing. I’m currently using the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner, and they seem comparable to one another. Depending on how long the tip of the brush stays firm, I’m not sure which one I will repurchase again!

Repurchase? Maybe

 

Jpeg

SKINCARE

Anthony Logistics for Men Advanced Formula Lip Balm in Blood Orange

About two years ago, one of my friends reached VIB Rouge status and asked me if I wanted her to pick up anything for me using her larger discount. I asked her to get me the Jack Black lip balm (my HG)…and she came back with this?! Haha not sure what the thinking was there, but I kept it anyways. Like Jack Black, Anthony is a brand targeted towards men. I really liked the blood orange scent, but didn’t love the formula of this as it was too sticky and just sat on my lips. I definitely didn’t find myself reaching for it, which is why it took me so long to finish it up. I find the scent a little strange, considering it’s aimed at men. I tried to give it to my fiance when I first got it and I wasn’t crazy about the formulation, and he wouldn’t take it because it “smelled too girly”.

Repurchase? No

 

Shiseido Benefiance Nutriperfect Pro-Fortifying Softener

I’ve always found that using a softener under my moisturizer does wonders for my dry skin. There are a few Shiseido softeners that I love, but I think this one is my favourite. I have the type of dry skin that feels really tight after washing it, and applying this on my face makes my skin feel really, really soft and supple.

Repurchase? Yes

 

Shiseido Benefiance WrinkleResist24 Intensive Eye Contour Cream

My HG eye cream! I finished a jar of this at the beginning of June, and have already opened a new one. I cheated on this one – the one in the picture is the newly opened jar, as I don’t know what happened to the one I just finished (likely thrown out by my fiancé – bless him for cleaning up after me and unintentionally throwing away garbage that I had meant to keep :P) This took me nearly a year to use up. I like it because it has never given me problems with milia. It’s also very rich and creamy, so I use it as my night-time eye cream.

Repurchase? Yes

 

Shiseido Facial Cotton

No picture of this because the packaging left after I finished with the cotton was just scraps! This is my HG cotton pad, which I finished early April. Out of all the cotton pads I’ve used, these ones are the least abrasive on the skin. However, they cost an arm and a leg considering they’re facial cottons! I’ve already opened up a new pack of these, although I now have the Muji cottons to try out as well.

Repurchase? Yes

 

P_20160710_175923a.jpg

SAMPLES:

Shiseido Refining Makeup Primer

I have about 20 of these, which came with GWP sets. Now that I’m using foundation, I’ve been using this as my primer. Although this does the job and provides a good base for my foundation go on smoother, I prefer slightly more moisturizing or “glowy” primers because of my dry skin.

 

Shiseido Bio-Performance Super Corrective Eye Cream

I took this on my trip to Toronto because it was a good travel size and because I have 10 of these in my stash that came with GWP sets. I cheated again – the one in the picture is a new and unused tube, as I couldn’t bother with bringing an empty tube home from vacation. I really disliked this – it was thick and sticky and didn’t provide much hydration to the eye area. Definitely not going to use the other samples I got of this.

 

Urban Decay Primer Potion

Not much needs to said about this, since it’s a favourite among the beauty community. I always have a sample size of primers that I can take on vacation, and I finished this one while I was in Toronto. It’s a great primer, but not my HG.

8 thoughts on “April-June Empties

  1. I find that it takes me a long time to finsih shower gels but I go through body lotion really quickly. And I shower daily! (in case you were wonderng lol). I also go through hair products really fast because I also wash my hair at least 6 times a week.
    I ended up giving my Majolica Majorca Lash King mascara to a friend. She was in need of a new mascara and I suspected I would react to it based on things I’ve read online (super waterproof, fibres) … she LOVES it. I’m happy it found a good home.
    You think the Becca corrector is causing you issues with melting mascaras? It seems like the culprit. Have you found a mascara that works?
    I like the Stila liiner a lot except I found it dries out quickly!
    I’m not a fan of the UD PP – it dries out my eyelids and I find it difficult to blend products on top.
    Ooh the Shiseido softeners are so indulgent! I’ve only tried that particular one from gwp samples.
    Hey, jinx, we both finished our eye creams at the same time! I haven’t replaced mine yet. I’m using a Yves Rocher one for now. I’ll replace the Shiseido in the Fall for sure!
    Have you tested the Muji cotton yet? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am the same, definitely faster at using body lotions than shower gels. I’m super slow at using up shampoos/conditioners even though I shower every day, because I buy those massive 1 litre bottles!
      Oh NO, so sad you had to give away the Lash King. That’s disappointing, but at least it found a good home. Actually, speaking of the Lash King, do you remember how much you bought it for in Japan? I actually found the Lash King at an Asian supermarket the other day, but it retailed for $23 CAD! I couldn’t remember how much I spent on the Lash Expander in Hong Kong, but I don’t think it equaled $23…
      Arghh, definitely the Becca corrector causing the issues, probably because it’s so emollient. I just love how it performs though, that I’m not willing to give it up. I’d rather find a mascara that works with it. Still looking!
      Interesting, I’ve never had the Stila liner dry up!
      I can see why you would think it’s drying! It doesn’t dry out my eyes, but it definitely has a dryer, thicker texture than most primers. What’s your favourite primer? Mine is the NARS Smudge Proof eyeshadow primer.
      Oh man, I’ve tried quite a few of the Shiseido softeners and they’re all good!
      I haven’t tried the Muji cotton yet! I bought it AFTER I replaced my old pack with a new one, but I’m tempted to have both open at the same time. Have you?

      Like

      • Nope I haven’t opened the MUJI yet. I’m back on the Shiseido crack cotton too. 😛

        The Lash King mascara cost me ¥1200 which converts to about $15.50 CAD. Yes $23 is a bit of a rip off but even checking online, they’re all at least $20 CAD. I guess it’s for the convenience factor of not um, having to fly to Japan to pick it up! 😆

        Yessss I love that Nars primer but I hate the stupid wand applicator. Right now I’m using a drugstore brand: Prestige. I picked it up when Rexall was clearing them out and I really like it. Reminds me a lot of the Too Faced Shadow Insurance. Another primer I like is the LORAC one. After I’m done with the Prestige I’m going to test out the Canmake one I got in Japan. 🙂 I like the squeeze tube type!

        Have you tried the CoverGirl LashBlast Volume or the Clump Crusher? Neither of those melt with the Becca!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lol! Shiseido crack cotton is the most fitting name for it, ever.
          Hmmmm…in that case, I might give in and get the Lash King when I have the low-buy budget for it. $23, sigh…I never buy high end mascaras and that is the price of a high end mascara.
          I haven’t tried either of the CoverGirl mascaras you mentioned! Actually, I have to admit that I’ve never tried any CoverGirl mascara, even though the LashBlast line gets such rave reviews. I’ve always been scared off by the large wand…but I think I may have to give them a try if they aren’t going to smudge with the Becca!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

