Testing Dupes: Too Faced Better Than Sex vs Rimmel ScandalEyes Retro Glam Mascara

I was looking at makeup dupes on Pinterest a while back, and  saw that the Rimmel Scandal Eyes Retro Glam was a dupe for the Too Faced Better than Sex (BTS) mascara. I wanted to give it a shot, considering 1) I was in the market for a new mascara, and 2) the BTS mascara is $30.00, compared with $9.99 for the Rimmel Scandal Eyes (I bought mine on sale for $6.99). Plus, I’ve always wanted to try one of those Pinterest dupes to see if they actually were dupes! Today I wanted to share my findings.

This is the second time I’ve tried the BTS mascara. The first time was a travel size that came with the A Few of My Favourite Things palette released during Holidays 2013. It was already a much talked-about product, so I was really excited to try it. Well, it did absolutely nothing for my lashes, AND it was flaky as all heck. I was seriously disappointed, because so many people had raved about this mascara and I hated it.

I got a second chance to try it this year when a sample came with the La Grand Chateau eye shadow set released during Holidays 2015 (I get sucked into the Too Faced holiday palettes, okay?) Surprisingly, I had better luck the second time. Still not HG mascara status, but I would give it a 7/10. However, when I started using the Becca Under Eye Brightening Corrector back in March, I found that BTS mascara would smudge underneath my eyes, so I stopped using it. When I heard about the Rimmel ScandalEyes mascara being a dupe, and thought that maybe it would perform just as well as the BTS mascara, sans the issues of flaking, or smudging when used with the Becca corrector.

Jpeg
From left to right: Too Faced Better Than Sex and Rimmel ScandalEyes

Here is what each mascara says it can do for the lashes:

Too Faced Better Than Sex:

  • Wand is an hourglass shape that separates, coats, and curls each lash to voluptuous perfection.
  • Film-forming Polymer for smudge-proof, all day wear
  • Acacia Senegal Tree Extract to nourish, thicken and lock curl in place
  • One coat and lashes are full and defined. Two coats and lashes are even more luscious, curled, and dramatic. Three coats help you achieve the most intense, black, multidimensional lashes possible.

Rimmel ScandalEyes

  • Plumps and curves lashes for an eyeconic 60’s look
  • The hourglass brush is shaped to the lash line, pushing lashes up and out to create a bold, wide-eyed look.

Performance

While both mascaras match their claims of having an hourglass shaped wand, the bristles of both mascaras are placed differently on the wand, thus changing the application. The BTS mascara has bristles that are more spread apart or separated, similar to a comb or brush. This helps to separate the lashes and give them volume. On the other hand, the bristles on the ScandalEyes wand are placed more closely together in groups, each group forming spikes of sorts. I found that mascara easily clumps inside the spikes between the individual bristles, and too much mascara ends up getting on my lashes. The spikes don’t really comb out my lashes the way that the BTS wand does, so it isn’t able to provide the volume I want. Compared to the BTS, the ScandalEyes mascara makes my lashes look more sparse.

In terms of length, both mascaras performed quite similarly in terms of providing length. I have very short lashes, and was happy with the length both of the mascaras gave.

I have to address BTS’s claim that the more coats you apply, the more dramatic your lashes will be – no. The more coats you apply, the more spidery and clumpy your lashes will be. At least, it did with mine. I thought that one coat was good enough volume, anyways, so it wasn’t a big issue. As for the ScandalEyes mascara, if one coat is already clumpy…at three coats, you have officially arrived in Clump City.

Jpeg
Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara
Jpeg
Rimmel ScandalEyes Retro Glam Mascara

Formulation

I found both mascaras to be quite wet. I personally prefer drier mascaras, because wet formulas make my weak and sparse lashes droop pretty quickly. Despite this, the BTS held my curl decently (around 6 hours) before my eyelashes started started to wilt slightly, while the ScandalEyes mascara only holds a curl about 4 hours before wilting. While the second tube of BTS mascara I tried did not flake as much as the first tube, there was still some slight flaking. This is so disappointing for a high-end mascara.If you’re paying $30 for a mascara, the least it can do is not flake, am I right. On the other hand, I had no issues with the ScandalEyes mascara flaking on me.

Now, my other big test was whether the ScandalEyes mascara would smudge like the BTS when I used it with the Becca Under Eye Brightening Corrector. Of course, this isn’t something anyone else would care about, and is something that I wanted to test for my own purposes. My findings were that it smudges just as much as the BTS! Both leave a faint grey ring under my eyes.

Below is a summary of how the two mascaras measure against each other based on several important characteristics in a mascara. Green signifies good, red signifies bad. As you can see, they both score two good and two bad. However, if you eliminate the “smudging with Becca corrector”, which no one cares about except me, the BTS mascara wins out.

 

TF2

 

Do I think these are dupes? Other than the similarly shaped wands and the formula, I would not consider these dupes. I found the BTS mascara to be higher-performing than the ScandalEyes mascara, but not worth its price tag. I would give the Better Than Sex mascara a rating of 7/10, and the Rimmel ScandalEyes mascara a 5/10. Not going to lie, I’m only continuing to use the Retro Glam mascara just for the sake of saying that I finished it. I have the CoverGirl LashBlast Clump Crusher on my list of mascaras to try next, and am super excited about it!

I am thinking of testing out more dupes. If there’s anything in particular you want to see tested, let me know! I am also always looking for new mascaras to try out. What have you currently been loving on your lashes?

 

5 thoughts on “Testing Dupes: Too Faced Better Than Sex vs Rimmel ScandalEyes Retro Glam Mascara

  1. $30 for mascara is highway robbery I tell you! No way, I will never even sucumb to that trap.
    Funny that Too Faced claims more coats = more drama. Um yeah, it’s gonna looke like Tammy Faye!
    I’m glad to see the emergence of Excel tables in makeup reviews! Hahahaha. 😆
    You must try CoverGirl LashBlast Volume, or Clump Crusher! They’re not dupes of anything, they are just awesome in their own right. And they don’t smudge.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Highway robbery! I have never bought a high end mascara, and don’t think I ever will. There are plenty of good options at the drugstore! Hahaha what, you don’t want Tammy Faye lashes? :O
      I was thinking of the best way to try and compare two items…Excel table, duh! It’s all I ever use at work, why wouldn’t I use it for my blog too?
      I bought the Clump Crusher last weekend, and I’m so excited to break it out! I’ll try the LashBlast Volume next! Not sure why I’ve been so worried about the wand size this whole time, because the Rimmel one was massive and it worked on my lashes okay.

      Like

Leave a Reply

