Makeup in My Gym Bag

For the past month and a half, I’ve been going to the gym before work with a coworker. We have a pretty good collection of gym equipment in our basement, so I’ve always worked out at home (errr…on and off), but my coworker has been trying to get me to go to the gym with her since last year, and she finally succeeded. Girl deserves a round of applause – I’ve had friends try to convince me for years!

Even though I try to do a 25-30 minute workout in the mornings, I only get up 10 minutes earlier than the days I don’t go to the gym…it’s already a struggle knowing I have to get up and haul my lazy butt to the gym, I’m sure as heck not waking up at 5:30am to go! This means I have to cut into my getting-ready time instead. Today I thought I’d share with you the beauty products I take with me to give me a quick work-ready look.

My goal for getting ready after the gym is to make myself look awake and polished enough for work. In terms of makeup, there are five basic things I do: Brows, lashes, concealing, blush, and setting powder. 90% of the time, I do have a few extra minutes to apply eye shadow as well, although I’ve run out of time to do that a couple of mornings. My post-workout beauty routine may seem excessive compared to most girls, but it’s just what I’m used to – I’ve noticed most girls in the changing room spend 75% of their time on their hair and 25% of their time on their face, whereas I’m the other way around!

Not including the products I bring into the shower with me, these are the products you can find in my gym bag:

IMG_3154a.JPG

HAIR CARE (not pictured in my featured image):

  1. Batiste Dry Shampoo – Most people shower in the morning after their workouts. I grew up showering at night so that’s just what I’m used to, and I especially can’t fit a shower into my morning schedule when I’m in a rush. Of course, I still step into the shower to wash my body and face after working out, but I don’t get my hair wet since there’s not enough time to dry AND style my hair. I keep a can of Batiste Dry Shampoo in my gym bag to tide me over until I get home from work to wash my hair. The one I’m currently using is in the Tropical scent.
  2. Hair Straightener – Even though I use the dry shampoo, my hair is still a mess from being in a ponytail during the workout, so I use a hair straightener to straighten and tame my hair.

IMG_3114a.JPG

SKINCARE:

I’ve mostly just been bringing whatever skincare samples I have at home to the gym, and most of the samples I own are from Shiseido.

Face Cleanser: Shiseido Extra Creamy Cleansing Foam – a longtime favourite of mine!
Face Serum: Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate – I always apply a serum before my moisturizer. It’s my first time using this particular one from Shiseido, and I’m really enjoying it so far!
Eye Cream: Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Eye Concentrate – this is a gel eye cream. It works well and provides just the right amount of hydration for my dry skin, but I find that the texture is too slippery to wear eye makeup over top without creasing a little. I’m still deciding whether or not to keep the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Eye Cream in my gym bag instead, but then that means I wouldn’t get to use it on non-gym days!
Face Cream:  Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Protective Emulsion – I’ve used this before and it’s just a meh moisturizer – I’m using it for the sake of using it up.

 

IMG_3116a

 

IMG_3117b.JPG

BRUSHES:

  1. Sephora Look Smart Travel Eye Brush Set – A travel-sized set that’s handy for on-the-go. Most of them aren’t my favourite, everyday brushes, but it has all of the eye brushes I need.
  2. Sephora Powder Brush and Smashbox #16 Blush Brush – I absolutely love these brushes, but they’re just so big for travel! I wish I owned travel-sized face brushes. These are also the brushes I use to get ready at home, and it’s kind of annoying taking them in and out of my gym bag…so I might try to look for travel-sized face brushes in the upcoming few months.

 

IMG_3123b.JPG

 MAKEUP:

  1. Anastasia Dip Brow Pomade – One necessary step in my makeup routine is doing my brows. I apply this with the angled eyeliner brush from the Sephora mini travel set.
  2. Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler/Mascara – Next, I will curl my lashes with my Shu Uemura eyelash curler, and then apply mascara. I’m currently using the CoverGirl Clump Crusher mascara.

IMG_3125b.JPG

3. Concealer – The third necessary step is to spot conceal and to cover my dark circles with concealer. I don’t use foundation on gym days – it takes too much time! I do bring the Becca Under Eye Brightening Corrector to use under my eyes before applying my NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer, but depending on time, I may only use the NARS concealer and forego the corrector.

4. Blush – Blush is a must in my  beauty routine. I’ve been leaving my Teeez blush in Very Rouge  in my gym bag because it’s an small single blush shade that doesn’t take up much space in my makeup bag!

5. Powder – Last step is to set my makeup with powder, which I use the Laura Mercier Traslucent Powder for. This thing is humongous, and I also wish I had a travel size of this, or at least a smaller container to decant some of the powder into!

IMG_3127a.JPG

EXTRAS:

There are the two items I always keep in my gym bag in case I have a few extra minutes while I’m getting ready: eyeshadow and eyeliner.

1. Inglot Quad: This is a handy palette to have in my gym bag – I designed it to have everything I need for an eye look: a highlight shade, a transition shade, an all-over lid shade, and a crease shade. I spoke about my issue with the all-over lid shade in my haul of this product: it’s a little too cool-toned and metallic on my skin tone and I would replace it the next time I have access to an Inglot, but it gets the job done.

2. Eyeliner: I find pencil liner to be the least fussy way to line my eyes, so I always leave this one in my gym makeup bag. I currently have a tiny nib of the UD 24/7 Pencil Liner in the shade Zero (matte black) that I am dying to finish up, so I’ve been trying to use it like a madwoman. I think I can finish this thing by the end of the year!

So these are the main makeup items I keep in my gym bag. Yeah, it’s a LOT. I think I’m going to work on making these products more travel-friendly in the next few months (ie making the non travel-sized items travel-sized, etc.) as it’s a pain to haul some of these bigger things around, and I have to constantly take some of the products in and out of my gym bag for every day use!

15 thoughts on “Makeup in My Gym Bag

  1. I can’t do gym before work. Or during lunch hour. Just NO. I tried and hated it. I’m sweaty beast and there’s absolutely no way I could work out and be “work-ready” within an hour. Or even 2 hours! 😛 I can’t NOT shampoo and blow dry my hair for work! So kudos to you!!
    That little Sephora brush kit looks so handy! Are the tips magnetic? I remember seeing a cute kit around holiday time and tempted to get it during Boxing week sales. If you’re looking for shorter handled brushes, try bdellium Tools – they’re great and not too pricey!
    https://bdelliumtools.com/travel.html
    I see you’re a Shseido skincare gal! 😀
    I can definitely understand wanting to do all the key steps for a “work face” – I’d want that too so I’m not judging. The getting ready for work is honestly the key deterrent from me working out before work. 😛
    So how many days a week is this fiasco?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can totally understand not working out in the morning or at lunch – the time is a tight squeeze! It’s part of the reason why I refused to go to the gym with my coworker – too rushed in the morning and lunch, and just wanted to head home after work. However, I’ve discovered working out first thing in the morning makes me feel better than working out any other time of the day – on non-gym days, I work out at home after work, and half of the time I’m just too pooped from the workday to go all out during the workout.
      Yes, the tips of the brushes are magnetic, and it comes with a little magnetic brush handle so you can switch the brushes – it’s cute!
      Thanks for the link to bdellium! Took a quick look and the prices are very reasonable!
      Oh gosh, I have makeup bags filled to the brim with Shiseido skincare samples that are from GWP sets…don’t think I’ll ever get through them in my lifetime, lol!
      This fiasco is only two days a week, lol! Although I try to do three days at home for a total of five days. Shamefully, we’ve been slacking the last two weeks as it’s been more of a struggle to wake up early each day because the sun has been rising later and later 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • 2 days a week isn’t so bad! I admire your dedication! 😀
        I’ve been making a good dent on my sample stash – it helps that I’m not actively adding to it but I think I’m due for a Shiseido skincare haul soon. I miss that eye cream so much. None of my eye creams are cutting it right now. I’m using them up just to get rid of them!
        Funny how a little thing the sun rising later can affect you so much huh! I’m noticing that too – and the setting earlier.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Heh, I’ve never been so dedicated when it comes to working out – it’s probably because I have a goal this time, to be in shape for the wedding! I’m sure I’ll lose all my motivation once the wedding has passed :S
          That eye cream is another crack product from Shiseido, like their cotton!

          Like

      • Umm sure you could say that! 😉 I normally do it on weekends or after dinner, actually! Our condo has a great gym which is conveniently located right on my floor! Literally down the hallway from me, I have so excuses! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

        • Free gym, perfect scenario! My coworker and I use the gym in our office building, which is also free – don’t think I’d ever pay for a gym membership because I’d just be wasting my money. Weekends are the best time to work out…that is, if one can work up enough motivation!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I could not live without Batiste – my favourite scent is the Ella Henderson one, it smells sooooo good! I think it’s limited edition but I hope they make it permanent because it smells so much better than the other scents they have.

    I have the travel size of the LM Powder and I love it but I wish they included a sifter. How does the full size not have a sifter??!? Annoying.

    Good for you for going to the gym! Could you throw some motivation my way? I have a pilates machine in my basement covered in dust that’s been calling my name for months. I’ve keep telling it to shut up. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I still see the Ella Henderson one at various Winners around town! The scent of the Tropical one is meh, so maybe I’ll try that one next.
      Heh, the loose powders I’ve always used never had sifters so I guess I got used to it, but I can totally see the handiness of having one!
      Ugh, I feel you on the motivation aspect of working out – I go through phases of being totally gung ho about working out, then not stepping foot into the gym for months!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooo, good choices! I admire your ability to be able to gym before work! When I go to the gym it’s usually right after work, or I work out at home in the later evening. I am not a morning person at all! Plus, my gym is on the other side of town. I love, love, love batiste dry shampoo, I couldn’t live without it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

