Review: CoverGirl Clump Crusher Mascara

The latest mascara I’ve been using is the Covergirl Clump Crusher by Lash Blast. It’s been a long, long time since I’ve used any mascara by CoverGirl – I’m always scared off by the large wands, which seem too big for my short lashes. I bought it back in July for $8.99, and have been using it for two months now. It’s given me enough time to gather all of my thoughts and make a judgement on it, so I thought it was time to do a review.

img_3238a

These are the claims of the Clump Crusher mascara from the Ulta website:

A breakthrough in no-clump mascara. Get 200% more volume and zero clumps. Features an innovative double-sided brush with lash-loading and clump-combing zones to crush clumps.

  • Winner of the 2014 Allure Best of Beauty Award
  • No clump formula
  • Buildable volume and length instantly
  • Precision bristles create long, separated lashes.
  • LashBlast is COVERGIRL’S Most Award-Winning Collection

The Clump Crusher has a very dry formula, which I prefer over wet formulas – I find wet formulas tend to make my lashes wilt. The formula is not thick, which made application pretty easy. The wand is plastic, and has tons of little spikes, or “teeth” – also my favourite type of mascara brush wand. I find it funny that according to the claims, the brush has different ‘zones’; to be honest, I can’t tell which part of the brush is for lash-loading and which side is for clump-combing. What I can say is that I find that the ‘teeth’ are good to comb and separate lashes with. Contrary to what I believed, the wand is not too large for my short upper lashes, and is able to reach the lashes in the corner of my eye.

IMG_3243a.JPG

When I bought this, I didn’t realize that I had accidentally picked up the water-resistant version. I tend to avoid waterproof/water-resistant formulas as I find the formula dries down too heavy and weighs my weak, sparse lashes down.

The first month I started using this, this was the exact experience I got – it seemed like 5 minutes after curling my lashes and applying mascara, my lashes were already being weighed down and were stick straight again. I really didn’t like how it was performing on me, and was contemplating throwing it out…but then I just kept using it for the sake of using it up.

Strangely enough, I’ve found that this mascara has really been working for me in the last month or so. It’s been holding my curl better than it was when I first bought it. That tends to happen when I use mascaras with wet formulas – the formula dries up a little as I use it longer, and my curl holds better…but this mascara started out dry to begin with, so I’m not sure what the deal is.

My natural lashes are basically short and stick straight. This is what they look like without mascara.

P_20160925_143037a.jpg

This is what it looks like right after application (I only apply this mascara to my top lashes as the wand for this is too big for my teensy lower lashes):

P_20160925_143615a.jpg

As promised by the name, there is no clumping at all! It definitely gives me long, separated lashes. Volume? Eh, only a little bit, but not enough for me to consider this a volumizing formula. I do find that more volume is created as I add more coats, but then the formula gets too heavy and my lashes start wilting – there’s really no point in having more volume when the lashes are stick straight! However, I tend to only wear one layer of mascara anyways, so not being able to build up the mascara is personally not a dealbreaker for me.

This is what the mascara looked like one hour after application:

Jpeg

I took this photo one hour after application, but my lashes basically stay looking like this for the rest of the day. The best part of this mascara is that it has never smudged under my eyes, which has been a huge problem since I started using the Becca Under Eye Brightening Corrector.

To summarize, here are my thoughts on this mascara:

Pros:
-Holds curl
-Inexpensive
-Does not cause clumps
-Does not smudge

Cons:
-Not particularly volumizing
-People who prefer wet formulas may not like this
-Had trouble building up the mascara

Next up on my list of CoverGirl mascaras to try is the LashBlast Volume. What mascara are you currently loving now?

19 thoughts on “Review: CoverGirl Clump Crusher Mascara

    • Aww, boo that it doesn’t hold a curl for you! Interesting, a lot of people say this is good for the bottom lashes. I tried it once and it clumped on me because my bottom lashes are too short and fine. Maybe I’ll give it another try!

      Like

    • Why do you prefer waterproof mascaras on your lower lashes? More smudge-proof? I’ve never really thought to waterproof vs non-waterproof for lower lashes specifically!
      I do remember Emily talking about this one. Shame that you don’t get along with CoverGirl mascaras – maybe you might have better luck with this one?

      Like

  1. I used that mascara few months ago. It was good but nothing too special. Right now I am using Lashblast Volume and I love it! It gives length, volume, and it separates! So far it’s one of the best mascaras I’ve used. My second favourite is Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara 😊 Have you tried that?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember you talking about the Clump Crusher – I feel the same, it’s good but not amazing. Just bought the Lashblast Volume yesterday. Really excited to try it now since you’re giving it rave reviews! I have not tried the Maybelline Lash Sensational, but I tend to like Maybelline mascaras, so I’ll put that on my list to try, too. Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So odd it weighed down your lashes and then it was better. And YAY about it not smudging – mission accomplished! 😀 I like this one a lot as an everyday / casual mascara.
    I hope that you’ll like the LashBlast Volume – it’s my HG! Some people find it clumpy but I think it’s a slight trade off for something more volumizing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never had much luck with CG mascaras either – but I like LOTS of volume.

    I’ve been using the IT Cosmetics Superhero mascara and I really like it! It doesn’t flake or smudge and it gives me some decent volume. I always hate buying higher end mascaras though, I’d rather spend my money on products that will last me longer than a couple months.

    Have you tried the Tarte Tarteist mascara? I feel like you might like it – it has a brush similar to the Clump Crusher. But I found it adds some decent volume.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I also hate buying higher end mascaras and very rarely do so – it seems like such a waste when they’re only good for two or three months! I haven’t tried Tarte Tarteist yet – if I do end end up picking up a high end mascara, I might give that one a try. Thanks for the recommendation!

      Like

Leave a Reply

