Wedding Planning Series: DIY Glitter Table Numbers

Today’s post is on a wedding DIY project that I’ve been working on for the past few months – DIY glitter table numbers. They actually don’t take very much time; I made 15 of them and would say they can be finished in 3-4 days. I just kept abandoning the project and going back to it!

We thought about doing watercolour table numbers, but ultimately decided to do these glitter table numbers instead. These sell for around $15-$20 each on Etsy – which means I would’ve had to spend around $300 on table numbers. I’m not a particularly crafty person, but knew I could spend only a fraction of that if I made them myself.

This is a fairly self-explanatory DIY. You can pretty much tell how it’s made just by looking at it! Spread glue, glitter, repeat. However, in this post, I hope to offer a few tips and tricks I picked up while making these.

IMG_3498.JPG

Jpeg

Jpeg

Supplies:

-Wooden numbers
-Wooden bases
-Metallic gold paint – I used 59mL Americana Multi-Surface Paint in the shade Champagne
-473 mL Mod Podge Glue (I bought matte, but finish does not matter)
-Hot Glue Gun
-Mod Podge Clear Acrylic Sealer – Make sure to buy the glossy finish (orange label)
-141.7g Loose Glitter of your colour choice – I used Recollections Fine Glitter in Gold
-Sponge applicator
-Flat paint brush (medium size)
-Paper plate
-Newspaper or something to cover your work surface with

I bought all of these supplies at Michaels, except for the sponge applicator and paint brush, both of which came in a big set of paintbrushes I bought at Dollarama for $3. I only used the sponge applicator because it was readily available, but you could get away with using a single flat paint brush for the whole project, as long as you wash it properly between steps. While we used fine glitter for our numbers, that there are different options to choose from based on your preference. Also, I probably only got through 10% of both the Mod Podge glue and the gold glitter, so I would recommend getting smaller bottles of both.

I also used 50% off coupons to get everything. It would’ve cost about $140 for all of the supplies to make 15 table numbers. That’s not so bad, but using the 50% coupons allowed me to costs by half. I felt silly walking up to the till with my $2.49 wooden number. It’s already pretty inexpensive, but all the costs do add up at full price.

Without further ado, here are the steps I took to make the table numbers:

1. To start, I painted both the bases and the numbers with the champagne acrylic paint. For the bases, I waited until the first coat was dry to paint the second coat, and it took 3 coats to reach full opacity. With the numbers, I only did one layer, since you’ll be covering it with glitter, anyways. You can choose to make the base glittery as well, but since I wanted to leave the bases unglittered, I had to do a more careful job with the painting.

TIP: The reason I painted the numbers was in case the glitter didn’t apply perfectly even, then at least any bald spots would still be gold. Now that I’m finished with this project, I would say it’s not necessary to paint the numbers if you are careful at applying the glitter. I didn’t bother painting the last half of the numbers and they turned out just fine.

Jpeg

2. Once the paint is dry, you can start covering the numbers with glitter.

TIP: Cover your work surface with something disposable – newspapers, scrap paper, etc. I used a plastic tablecloth from the dollar store that we bought for other purposes but never ended up using, and it worked out perfectly.  Anyone who has worked with glitter knows that it haunts you for life. You don’t want to still be vacuuming up glitter 2 years after making these.

3. Dump some glitter onto a large plastic or paper plate. Give the plate a gentle shake to evenly distribute the glitter on the surface of the plate.

3. Now go back to your wooden number. Evenly distribute a thin layer of Mod Podge to only one side of the number using the sponge applicator or brush.

IMG_3323.JPG

TIP: Work on one side at a time instead of an entire number at once because 1) The glue you painted on the first side will be dry by the time you finish spreading glue onto the whole number and 2) It will be hard to hold the number when all sides are covered with glue and you’re trying to dip it into the glitter.

4. While the glue is still wet, lay the number glue-side down into the paper plate of glitter. This should already cover the surface quite well, but if there are bald spots, you may need to do it again.

IMG_3325.JPG

TIP: As you can see in the pictures below, once in a while I found that there would be some stubborn, uncovered patches after dipping the number into the glitter. Use your flat paint brush (or a spoon) to scoop up glitter and sprinkle it over the bald spots. Also, I chose to dip the number into glitter instead of pouring the glitter from the bottle onto the number, because pouring it got messy, fast. I got glitter everywhere when I tried it, although you may have better luck if you are careful at pouring.

img_3326
This is what the number looked like after laying it over the glue
img_3327
This is what the number looked like after sprinkling glitter over the bare spots

5. Shake or tap your number over the plate to get rid of any loose glitter. You will then need to set it aside, glitter face up, until it is completely dry. I glittered one side on all of my numbers, before moving on to the next step.

6. Once the glue is dry, set the number with Mod Podge sealant spray. This is a must do. It’s also better to do each side as you finish, because even though you’ve shaken off as much loose glitter from the numbers as you can, glitter is still going to get everywhere. Sealing after each side is done means you are working with a cleaner wooden number. I waited 15-30 minutes between sprays before applying again. It took 3 layers of the sealant for me to feel comfortable that there was minimal fall-out.

TIP: This stuff stinks. I recommend doing it outdoors if possible, especially because the first spray of this will make the loose glitter on your number go flying everywhere.

7. Once the first side is done and the sealant has dried, repeat steps 3-6 with the other sides of the number until the entire surface is finished.

8. When you are finally happy with your glittery numbers, apply hot glue to the bottom of your number. Be generous with the glue – it’s okay if it spills out onto the sides once you stick it to the base, because no one will notice. It’s better to have more glue on the bottom than not enough, and have the numbers fall off the base during transit.

IMG_3507.JPG

9. Making sure your number is centered, quickly press the number firmly into the base. Hold it still for about 10 seconds while the glue dries.

And you’re done! This is what it looks like from far, as well as the glitter up close.

img_3510a

img_3511a

That is it for the table numbers! Happy crafting!

5 thoughts on “Wedding Planning Series: DIY Glitter Table Numbers

  1. OMG, I imagine how much glitter you’re finding in random places. Just from opening Christmas cards alone, I’m still finding glitter in odd places! XD
    I love those 50% off coupons from Michaels – like, does that place sell anything at regular price ever?
    15 tables… so that means you had 21 individual numbers you had to paint!
    Side comment: wow, your thumb is bendy. 😮

    Liked by 1 person

    • It surprisingly hasn’t been too bad! Most of the glitter fell onto the disposable tablecloth, which I just threw away after. Christmas ornaments and cards are the WORST for shedding glitter!
      Yes, never go into a Michael’s without being armed with a 50% off coupon!
      LOL, I had to go back to my pictures to see what thumb picture you were talking about. Yes, I have a hitchhiker’s thumb! My big toes are even bendier 😝

      Like

  2. Hello Martha ;)! These look fabulous! I made a lot of my own stuff for our wedding too, such a great way to save some $$$.

    I attempted to make some glittery makeup brush cups last year and it was a major fail. And I’m still finding glitter all over my house.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really IS a great way to save money! It would be so much easier just to get all this stuff on Etsy, but as long as my version is not a complete Pinterest fail, I would be willing to go through the hassle of making wedding stuff. It’s pretty fun, too!
      Oh no! The dangers of working with glitter, am I right? We found a LITTLE glitter around the house, but I was surprised that our house wasn’t a glitterfest!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

