January Low-Buy

Today’s post is on all of my January purchases, as well as how I did on my first low-buy of 2017!

As a reference, I gave myself a $100 budget on makeup products for January.

DSC00014a.JPG

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cleanser – $26

I had a $15 off coupon for Kiehl’s that I had to use up within the month. I wasn’t quite sure what to get since I have enough skincare in my stash already. After a review by Stashy, I thought this might be a good one to pick up for when I’m done my current cleanser, especially because I already love the Ultra Facial Moisturizer. I bought this in the limited edition Tegan and Sara Foundation packaging – thought I might as well, since 100% of the profits go to their foundation, of which the mission statement is to “fight for economic justice, health, and representation for LGBTQ girls and women”. It’s all for a good cause!

Kiehl’s Crème de Corps Soy Milk & Honey Whipped Body Butter – $46

The coupon I had required that I buy 2 items – I contemplated getting a backup of the Midnight Recovery Eye Cream, but it’s honestly going to take me forever until I use up my current tube. I picked up the Creme de Corps body butter instead, because I’ve heard it’s good and the coconut-y scent is absolutely amazing. It was expensive and way more than I would normally pay for a body butter, so it better be worth it!

DSC00017a.JPG

Lush Lip Scrub in Popcorn – $10.95

I usually make my own lip scrubs using sugar and olive oil, but lately I’ve been finding that I’ve gotten too lazy to make batches. Instead, I ended up buying one a lip scrub from Lush in the Popcorn flavour. The sweet-but-salty scent is kind of weird to me, but I flat-out didn’t like any of the other flavours, so ended up picking this one. I noticed they have a limited-edition Valentine’s Day one called The Kiss – maybe I should have waited for that one!

Teeez Eyeshadow in Wisteria Shadow – $24

I went to the Becca counter at The Bay to see if they still had a sales on some of their items, and while I was there, I stopped by the Teez counter right next to Becca to take a look at what they had. I couldn’t resist buying another one of their Spectrum of Stars duochrome eye shadows. Wisteria Shadow is an awesome purple duochrome, and I think it will be beautiful over darker shadows!

DSC00009a.JPG

MAC Eye shadow in Jest – $8

I bought this eye shadow because UD’s Sin is one of my all-time favourite shades, and I found Jest to be quite similar. I seem to be starting to run low on Sin in my Naked Palette, so I thought I’d buy Jest as a backup.

MAC Eyeshadow in Patina – $8

Okay, so I made a promise to myself that I wouldn’t buy any eye shadow palettes, yet I’ve bought 3 eye shadows this month. I feel like I’m cheating a little, but I bought an empty MAC palette last year, and I want to start working on filling it up this year! This has been on my list of shadows to buy from MAC for a while now – the taupey shade is right up my alley.

DSC00012a.JPG

CoverGirl Full Lash Bloom Mascara – $6.99

I had to be a little strategic in my purchases this month, since I’m doing a no-buy in February and March, I had to pick up some items this month that I knew I might need in my low-buy months. I’ll probably be changing my mascara soon, and I found the CoverGirl full Lash Bloom on sale at Shoppers. I’ve never tried it, so I’m looking forward to see how I like it.

Maybelline The Falsies Push Up Drama Mascara – $6.99

I also picked up this mascara for the same reason – for backup purposes. Does the name not sound intriguing (and rather silly at the same time)? Can’t wait to try this push-up bra on my lashes.

In total, I spent $40  on makeup products only (not including the mascara because those are replenishment items), while my budget was $100. Not bad! February is a no-buy month, and I’m not allowed to carry over the $60 that I didn’t use this month. It’s going be interesting to see if I can hold off on buying any makeup this month!

 

11 thoughts on “January Low-Buy

  1. I love the Tegan and Sara packaging! I was eyeing them, trying to justify a purchase (“it’s for a good cause!”) but had to put it down because I have waaaaay too many foaming cleansers in my stash right now. I hope you will like it!
    And oh yeah, the Kiehl’s Crème de Corps Soy Milk & Honey Whipped Body Butter is SO GOOD. I did a review of it too. A total indulgence!
    Oooh that Teeez shadow is gorgeous. I can’t wait to see a look using that!
    MAC PATINA!!! ❤ This is my 2nd favourite MAC shadow of ALL TIME. I will not rest until everyone owns this and Satin Taupe. XD #pusher
    Hrm I did not care for CG Lash Bloom – it didn't do much for my lashes, plus, it smudged terribly on me.
    I am quite curious about that Maybelline push up one though!
    Awesome job staying withint your budget!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The packaging is very eye-catching! If it’s as gentle as the moisturizer, then I’m excited to try it!
      Oh yes, now I remember you reviewing this! I’m waiting until I’m finished my current TBS body butter to start this one, but can’t wait to dig into the pot!
      Heh, maybe I should work my way to buying all of your favourite MAC shadows! 😛
      Oh noes, I home Lash Bloom doesn’t smudge on me, too. I’ll be sure to do a review of the Push Up Drama!

      Like

  2. I had the Lush lip scrub in Bubblegum and I loved the scent but it dried up so fast! I was kind of disappointed in it. I loved the fact that you could just lick your lips afterwards though. I bought elf’s lip scrub in a tube and so far that’s working out okay but it’s only been a week.

    I love UD Sin too but mine is long gone from my palette so I’m adding it to my Mac shopping list. Both shadows look lovely actually. I still need to get myself to Mac and pick up some single shadows for my z palette. I keep forgetting that they’re only $8!

    I can’t believe you only spent $40 of your $100 budget!?!?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ugh, the scent of Bubblegum always gives me a raging headache! I think it stems from childhood or something.
      I think I still prefer Sin to Jest! Sin is more shimmery. I think we’re just going to have to bite the bullet and get a single of Sin! Yes, the MAC pans are so cheap now! It’s too tempting to go and pick up 10 at a time.
      Haha! I think I’ve just been feeling overwhelmed with the amount of makeup I already own lately, and felt like I didn’t need anything else. That feeling comes and goes all the time!

      Like

  3. The LE Packaging of the Kiehl’s stuff is gorgeous! I’ve had samples of Creme de Corps and whilst I like it, I don’t have dry enough skin to spend that much on a body butter, as long as I use something I’m good! I do love the cleanser though, that’s a good pick!
    That teez shade looks really pretty!
    Hoping Feb no buy is working for you! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh, good to hear you like the cleanser! I haven’t tried it yet, but have high hopes! Fair that you didn’t purchase the Crème de Corps if you don’t have dry skin, since it’s super thick. It’s perfect since my skin is super dry!
      More than halfway through the month and no purchases so far, so fingers crossed! 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

