Nail of the Week: Sally Hansen Orchid Around

Today’s post is a focus on the nail polish I’ve been wearing for the last week. The previous week was absolutely brutal in terms of weather, but the weather this week has been positively spring-like! That, coupled with the fact that it was Valentine’s Day this week, made me want to sport a brighter, girlier colour than what I’ve been wearing for the past few months.

The polish I wore this week was the Sally Hansen Hard As Nails Xtreme Wear nail colour in the shade Orchid Around. I bought this polish back in November for $1.99 at Shoppers Drug Mart.

img_0005a

Orchid Around is a shade that I would describe as between medium pink and lilac in a crème finish; “orchid” is actually a very apt name for the colour. I’ve owned many pinks and many lilacs, but have never had a similar shade in my collection before! The polish in the bottle has a gorgeous silver veining of microshimmers. Unfortunately, the shimmers aren’t apparent on the nails at all unless my nails are right in front of someone’s face…which they never are. Very disappointing that the shimmers aren’t very visible, but the colour itself is pretty nonetheless.

IMG_0007b.JPG
Trying to take a close-up of my nails

 

In terms of the formula, the thickness is just right – not too goopy and not too thin, and I had no issues with drying time. However, I had slight difficulties with streakiness. The polish was opaque after the second coat, but a bit streaky. This could possibly be due to the brush, which is a typical sized nail polish brush that needs two or three strokes to cover my entire nail. I think I’ve gotten used to the large brushes that cover my whole nail in one coat! It took three coats for me to even everything out.

IMG_0004a.JPG

I wore this with the Essie Grow Stronger Base Coat underneath and Essie Gel Couture Top Coat on top. After seven days of wear, I felt that it lasted as well as most polishes typically do on me, nothing better and nothing worse. There was some regrowth and tip wear, particularly on my middle finger. As usual, my pinkie chip Tina also showed up halfway through the week – welcome back, Tina! None of it is noticeable from far away except for the pinkie chip.

IMG_0006b.JPG

Overall, I love the Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear line. The polishes are very inexpensive, and the formula is great, especially considering the price. I see myself getting a lot of use out of this shade as spring and summer comes!

10 thoughts on “Nail of the Week: Sally Hansen Orchid Around

  1. This colour looks GREAT on you! So fresh and perfect to combat the winter blahs.
    Back in the day, these Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear were my jam! I really loved the formula and they offered a bunch of pretty nude / sheer shades (“Bamboo Shoot” was my HG). Then I discovered Essies and have forgotten about these. I really should give this line another look. They’re always on sale for $3.
    *Waves* Hi Tina! We’ve missed you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, gal! You’re so right, something brighter like this is great to combat the winter blahs…I’ll need to remember to do this more often instead of wearing dark shades or neutrals!
      I think I prefer these over Essie, but only by a hair! Essie has WAY more shades to choose from, but the Essie brushes are skinnier, and these are $3 on sale vs $8 Essie on sale (I guess you can get them cheaper at that nail place you showed me, though!) Pros and cons to each!
      LOL, we have definitely NOT missed Tina. She can’t sit with us!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh this is super pretty! I have a few of these polishes too and I’ve always been super impressed with their quality given the price.

    I see you’re in the same club as Stashy and Chris (Five Zero) with your perfect nails and perfect polish application 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Essie has WAY more shades to choose from, but the Essie brushes are skinnier, and these are $3 on sale vs $8 Essie on sale (I guess you can get them cheaper at that nail place you showed me, though!
    I see you’re in the same club as Stashy and Chris (Five Zero) with your perfect nails and perfect polish application 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

