Review: Makeup Geek Highlighters

Hello, everyone! Today’s post is a review on a few highlighters from Makeup Geek. My fiance bought four of them for me for Valentine’s Day, which means I’ve been using them for a month now, and I’m ready to give them a full review!

Before I go into each individual shade, I wanted to go over the brand’s highlighter line in general.

A single highlighter from Makeup Geek costs $20 for 0.25 oz of product, but they also have set bundles of 3 highlighters for $48, or $16 per highlighter. There are four different bundles aimed for four different skintones: Porcelain, Fair, Medium, and Deep. The brand currently has 13 highlighters in its collection, six of which are duochromes, as well as a highlighter palette which is in collaboration with Kathleen Lights. All of the highlighters are permanently available, with the exception of the Kathleen Lights palette.

The Packaging

DSC00132.JPG

The highlighters are housed in a gunmetal compact with the Makeup Geek logo on the front. It feels quite sturdy, and the look reminds me a lot of the Urban Decay packaging. I was wearing hand lotion when I was taking photos of these highlighters, and got fingerprint marks all over the packaging! Each highlighter compact contains a mirror, which I find quite handy. The powders themselves have an embossed geometric pattern. All of the Makeup Geek highlighters are made in the USA; they are cruelty-free, as well as Talc and Paraben-free.

The Performance

IMG_0042

 

The first highlighter in my collection is Electrify, a shade in their duochrome range. Electrify is a white-yellow duochrome. It has a pretty strong yellow tone, which I think may not suit individuals with pink undertones. I don’t find the duochrome effect to be particularly strong on this one – it seems like one of their regular highlighters.

IMG_0043.JPG
Makeup Geek Midnight Sun, Luster, Lit

 

The other three highlighters I asked for came in a bundle. I had a difficult time deciding between the bundle for fair and medium skin, but the shades in the medium bundle looked too dark for me, so I ultimately went with the bundle for fair skin. Now that I’ve actually tested all of the highlighters in the fair skin bundle, I think I chose the right one.

The first highlighter is Midnight Sun, which is a golden shade that is part of their regular highlighter range. I was worried this would be too dark on me, but it turned out okay. Again, this one might be more suited for warmer skintones, although I do think that this is a little more versatile on a larger variety of complexions compared with Electrify.

The second one in the bundle is the shade Luster. This is also part of their regular highlighters. It looks pretty mauve in the pan, but swatches as a pinky-champagne shade.

The last one is Lit, another shade that is part of their duochrome range. This one is an ivory with a peachy-pink duochrome. Out of all the ones I purchased, I think this one is my favourite – the duochrome effect is stronger than Electrify.

Overall, all of the powders feel very smooth and blend very easily. I don’t find the texture quite as buttery as a brand such as Becca’s, nor is the pigmentation quite as strong. This is okay for me personally, because I prefer to use highlighters that can be built up instead of being so intensely in-your-face right off the bat – it’s easier to build up than to take away. Although all of the powders have a frosted finish, none of them contain chunky glitter that you can easily see on your face. Out of the four, Lit is the most subtle, whereas Luster is the most shimmery.

In the pan, the two duochromes, Electrify and Lit, look very similar. As I said in my February No-Buy post, my fiance thought he had bought me two of the same shade, but makeup lovers with a trained eye will notice that Electrify is slightly more yellow-toned in the pan.

IMG_0053
From left to right: Electrify and Lit. Electrify is slightly more yellow

I swatched the two shades next to one another to see how they compared. As you can see below, Electrify is more yellow applied than Lit, which is more pink.

IMG_0065a
Makeup Geek Lit, Electrify, Midnight Sun, Luster

These are definitely frosty highlights, but they can be toned up or down depending on your needs. I’ve been wearing them in rotation to work for the last two weeks and apply them with a fan brush, and feel that the shine is not so blinding that it’s not appropriate for the office. When I want something more intense, I use a small fluffy powder brush to apply the powder instead.

I think if I were to choose again, I would switch Electrify with Glitz, an icy pink (non-duochrome) or with Moon Phase, an blue-purple duochrome. I love that I don’t own anything similar to Electrify, but I’m not sure I’m sold on the yellow shade. The reason I didn’t purchase Moon Phase was because I wasn’t sure if the blue-purple shift would look good on me, but the duochrome is so strong! Either way, I’ve been enjoying using the Makeup Geek highlighters, and can see myself getting a few more in the future.

Have you tried Makeup Geek highlighters before? These are my first foray into the brand – what else would you recommend from them?

14 thoughts on “Review: Makeup Geek Highlighters

  1. The bundle is a great price! But this is like enough highlighter for a lifetime! XD
    I’m really liking how Lit and Luster look! For some reason I find really strong yellow highlighters to look weird on me.
    Total MUG noob… my wish list keeps growing based on people’s reviews and swatches but first on my list are their eye shadow refills and maybe a blush.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LMAO it definitely is enough highlighter for a lifetime…I looked at them the other day and thought, “How am I supposed to get through all of these?” yet I still want more. I think Lit and Luster are my favourite of the four, too!
      YES, huge ongoing MUG wish list for me too. Their shadows look gorgeous!

      Like

  2. I agree with Stashy, I am a MUG newbie and I have a super long wishlist, but these look great, some of the colors look similar to the Kathleen Lights palette, since that is not available it is great to have other options. Also dropping by to let you know I have nominated you for a Liebster Award over on my page!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Other than these highlighters, I’m a MUG newbie too! So many things I want from this brand. It looks like the Kathleen Lights palette is still online, but who knows how long it will be around? I’m sure they have similar shades that are permanent, though!
      Aww, thanks for nominating me, girl! I can’t wait to read yours!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. How sweet that your fiance picked out makeup for you! My husband would never. Not necessarily a bad thing lol.

    I’ve been dying to try Makeup Geek forever but I can never justify it given the exchange rate. I want so many of her eyeshadows! The highlighters look really pretty – you’re set for life now as far as highlighters go! 😉

    Like

    • LOL, yes…he would never be brave enough to pick out makeup for me.
      I agree, I’ve been holding off on buying MUG and Colourpop because of the exchange rate. Sad thing is that it doesn’t look like it’s going to get much better anytime soon! 😦 Almost makes me wonder if we should just bite the bullet…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been wanting to purchase products from MUG but for some reason, I ended going for Colourpop. haha.. these are beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

