March Low-Buy and Anti-Haul

At the beginning of 2017, I set March to be a no-buy month for me. I thought this would be really hard after doing a no-buy in February, but we’ve been too busy for me to even worry about shopping for makeup, so it hasn’t really been an issue! Although it’s not quite the end of the month, I’m 100% sure I’m not going to buy anything in the last three days, which means I was able to stay true to my no-buy! *throws confetti* Since the lack of purchases makes my March no-buy post pretty much non-existent, I thought today I would stick with the theme of not buying anything and do an Anti-Haul post. The idea of the anti-haul is sharing popular beauty products that I will NOT be buying! This does not mean that any of these products are bad or poor-performing at all – they just don’t interest me enough to purchase.

s1901891-main-Lhero.jpg

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Prismatic Amethyst – $46

This one might be a little controversial because of all the hype surrounding this. I really love the quality of Becca highlighters, and this one actually looks gorgeous. However, I’m not sure I’m into the lavender highlighter trend as of late. It would be a stunning shade for people with fair, cool-toned skin, but this would look so off on me!

summer-2017_tarte-make-believe-in-yourself_002_promo

Tarte Make Believe in Yourself Palette – $52

Tarte is releasing a unicorn inspired collection that makes five-year-old me squeal with excitement. However, I find this release a bit out of place for the brand – the colourful, ultra-girly packaging screams more Too Faced to me, especially because Tarte has always been a more “natural” brand focused on products made from natural ingredients (Amazonian Clay,  Marajuca oil, their Rainforest of the Sea range, their Athleisure range, etc.) as well as makeup that usually comes in neutral shades. Some of the items in this collection look cute and I don’t want to close myself off from the possibility of buying anything from it, but this Make Believe in Yourself palette in particular doesn’t look that appealing to me. I like the idea of it having some pops of colour, but I probably wouldn’t use a handful of the shades, and the palette doesn’t have enough mattes for it to be a one-stop shop palette for me.

s1870161-main-Lhero

 

Prismatic Pearl Crème Lip Gloss in Gold – $25

When I first saw these online, I thought that I would have to own them all! Then I looked into them more, and eh, maybe not so much anymore. The shade Gold especially has been ALL over Instagram lately. It looks cool on Instagram, but I don’t imagine it’s very wearable for every day life. I haven’t checked out the Prismatic Pearl Creme lip glosses in person, so I can’t say whether or not I would buy the other shades. My main worry would be all of the chunky glitters remaining on the lips after the gloss wears off, which is one of my biggest makeup pet peeves of all time. The reviews I’ve read haven’t really mentioned this issue, which makes me a little curious about the wear of this product.

 

s1902014-main-Lhero.jpg

Too Faced Love Light Prismatic Highlighter – $38

The new releases from Too Faced have been getting a lot of coverage lately. I’ve seen these highlighters everywhere. I absolutely ADORE the packaging – as always, Too Faced packaging appeals to the 5-year-old me. It reminds me of this Polly Pocket that I used to own as a kid even though it looks nothing like it, haha. Anywho, when I looked into the product, I didn’t find the swatches particularly great, so I think I’ll be skipping these.

 

s1891340-main-Lhero

Stila Magnificent Metals Glitter & Glow Liquid Eye Shadow $31

I love me some bling, and I’m a sucker for metallic or shimmery shadows, so I got really excited when I heard about this new release from Stila. After looking at swatches and reviews, I don’t think I’ll be purchasing it. All of the shades look TOO over the top and metallic for every day use, so I’m not sure I’d get much wear out of them. Also, every time I’ve tried to use liquid eye shadow, it was always a big, messy fail, so this is a skip for me.

s1919729-main-Lhero.jpg

YSL Volupte Tint-in Balm – $42

This new launch is not a new concept – it has the same idea as the Bite Beauty Lush Lip Tints, and I’m sure many other lip tints out there. The center part of the lipstick, which is shaped like a heart, is a clear nourishing balm, and the lipstick is supposed to give your lips a bit of a tint. This is completely subjective, but for me, if I’m going to spend $42 on a lipstick, it better show up on my lips instead of just being a tint, you know what I’m saying?

abh-nicole-guerriero-glow-kit-a.png

Anastasia x Nicole Guerriero Glow Kit – $52

It is completely by chance that a good chunk of my list consists of highlighters – I think there have just been a lot of highlighter releases as of late. If you haven’t heard of this palette, you must come out from under your rock! Anastasia’s Glow Kits are always a huge hit, and this one especially has a lot of star power due to its collaboration with Nicole Guerriero.  I can understand wanting to own this if you’re a Nicole fan or collect the Anastasia Glow Kits. I don’t watch Nicole, so the collab wasn’t a factor in deciding whether I wanted this palette. For me, I thought that a lot of the shades in this palette seem a little too similar to justify purchasing. I also like the idea of having a highlighter palette, but realistically, I would not bring this with me on vacation because I wouldn’t need six highlighters during a trip.

Do you own any of these products, and if you do, how are you liking them? If not, are these on your anti-buy list too?

16 thoughts on “March Low-Buy and Anti-Haul

  1. I’d kind of like to try the purple highlighter as I’m quite fair skinned. I’d like to know if it’d suit me😊 Agree the other products don’t excite me either. The YSL balm is pretty but for that price. No way x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That Tarte palette looks like a ViewMaster reel. The Becca highlighter looks pretty but I already have a couple purple highlighters. The Nicole G palette doesn’t interest me (I sub to her channel but she hardly uploads anymore and her last vid was basically her fawning over all the attention she’s been getting for it… very off-putting. It’s funny because she lives like 10 min from me).

    I have one of those Stila shadows in Rose Gold Retro (had Diamond Dust but took it back after one use as it just wasn’t for me). I like it but you have to use a glitter primer or else it’s fallout city.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg! I’ve never thought of the Tarte palettes looking like a Viewmaster Reel, but you’re so right, it totally does!
      Hah, YouTubers are pretty much like mini celebrities these days, especially with all of these collabs going on. It’s a huge honour, but I imagine some of them have a hard time staying modest 😛
      Oh man, I thought that the “liquidness” of the Stila shadows would make it stick to your lids better than loose glitter, I didn’t realize that fallout was an issue!

      Like

      • Yeah that’s what I thought too with the Stila shadows. But even Casey Holmes says she won’t wear them unless she uses glitter glue. Smoky Storm looks pretty. That one has me tempted.

        I’ve noticed a lot of youtubers are getting big heads because of collabs & their “celeb” status. I hope they realize one day it could all be over. They may be young & pretty now but eventually they’ll be older and the brands will move on from them to the next young “it” crowd.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Anti-hauling and decluttering have become such a big movement now. I think the makeup world is reacting to to the excessive amount of launches and limited edition collections. I’ve never seen so many people talking about not buying makeup! It’s great! 😀

    I like the IDEA of a lavender or pale blue highlight… but I’m sure as hell not going to pay Becca prices to test out the trend! ColourPop makes a bunch…
    Seriously, Tarte is releasing a unicorn theme collection? Maybe I’m too old for this crap now… but yeah, I agree with you, it’s more of Too Face’s brand, not Tarte.
    Hmm the YSL Volupte Tint-in Balm is pretty and I do like a tinted balm… but yeah, for that price, I want more colour. 😛

    And MISSY, you’ve got enough highlighters to last you a lifetime! I don’t watch Nicole Guerriero either – her look isn’t my thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It IS nice to see, especially since it feels like with all of the YouTube beauty videos pushing us to buy buy buy, it’s refreshing to see that people are NOT buying. As a blogger, it’s easy to get caught up in being the first to review new releases, but I think there’s a way to be a good beauty blogger without having to buy all the time.

      Omg YES, I have those Colourpop highlighters on my wishlist (yes, I know I already own enough to last me a lifetime already…the highlighter obsession struggle is real). So much more worth it to pay ~$10 CAD to try a crazy blue highlighter instead of $46 for Becca.

      Seriously, I got so confused with the Tarte unicorn collection! I thought it was Too Faced until I did a double take. Unicorn-themed makeup has taken off with indie beauty brands, and I feel like Tarte is capitalizing on it.

      Haha, exactly! For that price, I want someone to notice my lip colour! lol.

      You’re right, her look isn’t my thing either. Very “Instagram baddie” (where did that phrase even come from? Makes no sense to me).

      Like

  4. Yeah, I totally agree, purple highlighters were definitely not made for all skin tones. However, as the purple junkie that I am, I am SO thankful that I am fair enough to pull them off. They have filled a very serious void in my life, haha! I have both the Becca one and a Colourpop one. I wear the Becca one more, but I think its more of a formula preference.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I want the too faced blush just because of the packaging. But the tarte and Nicole G. Palette are not on my list at all. They just didn’t appeal to me whatsoever.

    Like

  6. I really wanted the Becca highlighter when it was first released – then I swatched it in-store and it’s super intense and kind of unnatural looking. Pretty but I’m going to pass on it too.
    Totally agree with you on the Tarte palette too – the shades look super pretty but it’s just not practical for me.
    A round of applause for you sticking to your No-Buy in March! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

