April Haul and Low-Buy

Today’s post is a combined haul and low-buy post for the month of April. The big event this month, as you all already know, was the Sephora VIB sale. I started this month off knowing that there wasn’t anything I was particularly excited about buying at Sephora. I went into the store 4 separate times for inspiration, and each time I left feeling uninspired!

DSC00229.JPG

SEPHORA PURCHASES

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner

This is a  constant in my Sephora VIB purchases for me – it’s my favourite liquid liner, and I always replenish my stash of these during the sales. I think this is my third (or fourth?!) one.

Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara – $22.95

I never buy high-end mascaras. Like, never ever. I don’t even like spending $10 on a drugstore mascara. So I’m not really sure what made me buy this. I think I just haven’t found any mascaras at the drugstore lately that have impressed me, and I’ve heard really good things about this one. Review to come when I start using this!

Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask

I bought a set of sample-sized Origins products back in November, and this mask was included in the set. I haven’t finished the sample yet (I’m saving it for travel), but the few times I used it, I enjoyed it so much that I decided to buy the full size of it.

Sephora Collection Rouge Gel Lip Liner – $12.75

I’ve been looking for a lip liner for my bright lip colours. I went around testing a bunch on my hands, and I really liked the formulation of this one. It really is very gel-like, so the name of the product is fitting. It’s not a perfect match to my bright lipsticks, so we’ll see how it works. The SA helping me said that the formula is so creamy that it can be used to fill in the entire lip. I haven’t tried to use it with my bright lipsticks yet, but if they don’t look good together, then I guess I can just use it as a lipstick!

DSC00224.JPG

VEGAS PURCHASES

Essie Gel Couture Polish in The It-Factor – $13.99

This was not purchased in Vegas, but I just lumped it in with my Vegas purchases because I kind of bought it FOR Vegas. I really love this shade and think I’ll be getting TONS of use out of it during the summer. I reviewed this polish in my last post.

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Jilted

In my What I Packed to Vegas post, I mentioned that I had wanted to bring Jilted with me to Vegas, but when I dug it out of my lipstick bag, it had been utterly and completely destroyed, and I was completely heartbroken in a way that only makeup lovers would know:

IMG_0019 (2)

When we were in Vegas, we went shopping at the premium outlet, and we came across a store that must have opened up since the last time I was there two years ago, called the Luxury Beauty Store. Umm…yup, judging by the name, I needed to go in there. Anyways, they had a huge collection of the Urban Decay Revolution lipsticks, likely because they were sent to the outlet after being discontinued by UD – and they had Jilted in stock for $10 USD. I snatched up that baby before it could somehow disappeared before my eyes.

Urban Decay All-Nighter Makeup Setting Spray – $36.97 

I have been itching to buy a setting spray in the past few months. I’ve never owned one but I think it’ll likely come in useful on our wedding day. I was going to buy one during the Sephora VIB sale, but then I ended up finding them in the Luxury Beauty Store. I honestly could’ve spent ALL day browsing that store, but my girlfriend who I was on the trip with is not big on high-end makeup, so I didn’t want to waste her time being there for too long. I don’t know how much I spent in CAD separately for the lipstick and setting spray, but the price above is what I paid for both items together in CAD.

DSC00217.JPG

INLP Nail Polishes – $59.96

I’ve been dying to buy INLP nail polishes for probably half a year now, and I knew for sure I was going to buy some this month. When I found out a bunch of the shades I wanted were sold out at Nail Polish Canada, Stashy informed me that INLP is sold at Harlow & Co. I ordered four holographic shades (in order from left to right): Champagne Blush, Sweet Pea, Paige, and Flower Girl . When I opened the package, my fiance said, “They’re all pink. Why would you buy four pink nail polishes?!” He clearly doesn’t understand that they’re all so very different 😛 Anyways, I’m a massive holo junkie, so I’m super excited to try these.

My budget for April makeup product was $200. In total, I spent $146.62. I did not include the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner as that is a replenishment, nor did I include the Origins mask because that is a skincare product. Technically I shouldn’t have included the UD lipstick because that was a replacement, but for the sake of not itemizing the two purchases from that store, I kept it simple and just included it 😛 Super impressed with myself that I didn’t go over budget, especially considering I was on a no-buy for the last two months!

I think I am kind of enjoying this no-buy thing for part of the year. I thought it would be hard, but it isn’t really. And on top of that, it makes my purchases that much more exciting when I do get to buy stuff, you know? It has also made me focus on doing more reviews for the blog, instead of haul after haul.

11 thoughts on “April Haul and Low-Buy

  1. Wow, you went to Sephora FOUR times and wasn’t tempted, that must really mean you don’t NEED anything. Or, you’re broken. And you need to revoke your beauty blogger status! 😛

    I think I have a sample of that Origins overnight mask – should go look for it.
    And I’ve not heard much about the Sephora Collection Rouge Gel Lip Liners – such a great price! I do like to fill my whole lips in lip liners and apply balm on top.

    The sight of that destroyed UD lipstick brings tears to my eyes! 😦 But what a score for $10USD at that outlet. You were smart to snatch it up as soon as you saw it – imagine if you went back and someone else had gotten it? Double whammy.

    Good call on getting a setting spray for your wedding – it will come in handy!
    I think I need to visit Vegas just to visit this Luxury Beauty Store! I’ve been to CCO a couple of times and always cry about why there isn’t one in Toronto.

    AND OMG on all the INLP polish!!! 😮 Your fiance surely is COLOURBLIND! These are all so different, can’t he SEE?! I’m so glad you scored the colours you wanted on Harlow & Co.!
    I say technically you shouldn’t include anything you bought in Vegas! 😉

    Awesome job on keep below your budget! Mine was $200 too but I haven’t tallied everything – I think I did ok since I had some gift cards and points I redeemed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hah, I know right? I’m so ashamed of myself.

      Do you not find lip liners too dry to fill out the entire lip? I know a lot of people do it, but it doesn’t work too well for me, even with balm on.

      LOL, there were like 10 of those lipsticks in the same shade left – no danger of anyone taking all of them. I was just overexcited that I could replace it! The Luxury Beauty Store is very similar to CCO! But I feel like every time I’ve gone into a CCO, I walked out empty-handed – maybe because there was nothing I “needed” at the time. They had gift baskets of Kiehl’s items. I wanted to buy one, haha!

      Hahahah I’m so glad you and I are on the same page with the ILNP polish! The problem is that now I know they’re so readily available, I need more in my life…

      Ha, that’s true, Vegas was totally a vacation! Oh well, the balance isn’t be carried over so I guess it doesn’t matter.

      Oooh, hope you stayed under budget on yours! Good luck, teehee!

      Like

  2. I love that Origins mask – it’s so moisturizing (duh). I use it a lot in the Winter.

    I picked up the KVD liner too – after trying a few different ones I’ve determined that it’s my favourite.

    I’ve used that Tarte mascara a few times – sometimes its amazing, other times it dries up really quickly. It’ll be interesting to see what you think about it!

    Loving that Essie nail polish – I still need to try the Gel Couture line! And those ILNP polishes – gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh, I’m glad you enjoy it too!

      What other liquid liners have you used? The one I tried before this was the Stila Stay All Day liner, which was good but I felt the tip wore out quickly. I haven’t found any drugstore liquid liners I’ve liked.

      Hmm, good to know about the drying issue with the Tarte mascara. Fingers crossed it’s good!

      Yes, get your hands on the Gel Couture polishes! The cheapest I’ve seen is at Walmart. The ILNP polishes are to die for, too!

      Like

  3. Great choices! That’s so amazing that you were able to find Jilted! Definitely a sign that it needed to be back in your life! Plus the Revolution formula is pretty amazing! I’d be so excited if I came across ANY these days! I miss it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

