Dupe or Not? L’Oreal Lash Paradise vs Too Faced Better Than Sex?

Today’s post is a review and comparison of the L’Oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise to the Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara. The first time I heard about the Lash Paradise was on Tati’s channel when it was just newly released. It made such a massive, noticeable difference to her lashes that I went right to the drugstore that same day to look for it. I didn’t find it in stores until maybe about two weeks later, but I waited for a while after that until I could get it on sale.

This mascara is supposed to be a drugstore dupe for one of the most famous mascaras out there, the Too Faced Better Than Sex (BTS) mascara. I have tried the BTS mascara twice, and although I really enjoyed the effect it gave my lashes, it smudged under my eyes in varying degrees. The comparison of these two mascaras intrigued me – I bought the Lash Paradise with the hope that it would perform similarly to the BTS, minus the smudging. Unfortunately, I currently do not own a tube of the BTS so for this post, I am including photos that I have either taken in the past, or have found online.

The price of the Lash Paradise is dependent on where it is purchased. I bought mine on sale for $7.99, but I most commonly see it for $11.99. On the other hand, the Better Than Sex mascara retails for $30 CAD.

 

BTSvsLLP
Packaging of L’Oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise vs Too Faced Better Than Sex (photo from Too Faced website)

In terms of the packaging, it’s pretty easy to see that the Lash Paradise is a dead ringer for the BTS – both tubes are a blush pink shade in a brushed metal finish. I guess L’Oreal wanted to scream, “This is a dupe of the Too Faced Better Than Sex!” Comparing the wands of both mascaras, this is what they look like:

DSC00324a
Lash Paradise Mascara Wand
bts.jpg
Better Than Sex Mascara Wand

The wands are also very similar to one another – they both have a bristle brush in a wavy hourglass shape, which was a selling point of the BTS; the cardboard packaging of the Lash Paradise says that the wand holds more than 200 bristles, although I would say that the Better Than Sex mascara wand is still more densely packed with bristles.

Now, let’s get to the most important part, the performance. First, the claims of the Lash Paradise mascara are “voluptuous volume & length”. It is supposed to have a “smooth glide formula that provides silky volume in one coat, intense at the gaze, and soft to the touch”. Likewise, the Better Than Sex mascara claims that the formula contains collagen to give a dramatic, defined look in just one coat, as well as a “film-forming polymer for smudge-proof, all day wear, and Acacia Senegal tree extract to nourish, thicken and lock curl in place”.

Both mascara formulas are quite a drier formula to begin with, which is my preference. I find that the Lash Paradise is just as good at lengthening my lashes as the BTS; however, the Lash Paradise applied a bit clumpy the first few weeks I started using it, so that my already sparse lashes stuck together and looked even less voluminous than usual. It made my lashes look very defined, but it didn’t look nearly as incredible as I saw in Tati’s video.

P_20170720_182111a.jpg
L’Oreal Lash Paradise – first week of use

 

This is what the Lash Paradise currently looks like on me (after a month of use):

P_20170728_065801_1.jpg
L’Oreal Lash Paradise after using it for a month

 

Jpeg
Too Faced Better than Sex mascara

It definitely makes my lashes look a lot more voluminous than the first few weeks I used it, because my lashes are no longer clumped together. The formula also feels more buildable now and I can wear two coats of this for more defined lashes, which is similar to the BTS mascara.. When I first started using the Lash Paradise, I wasn’t able to apply more than one coat of mascara because the formula made my lashes feel crunchy and stiff; one coat already clumped my lashes, two coats gave me serious spider lashes. .

There are two areas where the Lash Paradise has a leg up on the Better Than Sex mascara. I found that it held my curl quite better than the Better Than Sex, especially when I layered the mascara. With the Better Than Sex mascara, my weak lashes wilted under the weight of two coats, but the Lash Paradise holds my curl strong all day.

Another area where the Lash Paradise excelled over the Better Than Sex mascara was that it did not smudge under my eyes like the BTS mascara did.

So, do I think that the L’Oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise is a dupe for the Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara? Not right from the get-go, but I think after a few weeks of use I would say it’s a dupe. In fact, there are areas where the Lash Paradise performs better than the Better Than Sex. For those who are die-hard Better Than Sex mascara fans, I ultimately would say it’s a great choice to replace the Better Than Sex mascara, especially considering the much lower price point. I would definitely buy it again, and this is coming from a girl who almost always tries a new mascara every time.

Here is a summary with the pros and cons of the Lash Paradise compared to the the Better Than Sex mascara:

Pros:
-Less expensive
-Does not smudge
-Holds curl better
-Just as volumizing as the BTS

Cons:
-Formula is clumpier at first

Have you tried this majorly hyped-up mascara yet? What did you think?

18 thoughts on “Dupe or Not? L’Oreal Lash Paradise vs Too Faced Better Than Sex?

    • Yes, super similar! I often prefer mascaras a few weeks in too, once the formula has dried a little. I was just expecting it to be va-va-voom the very first time I used it, like I saw in Tati’s video (I think it was her first time wearing it too) but it wasn’t. Nevertheless still a great mascara!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Very thorough review! I agree, it’s been so hyped up on Youtube now for the past month or two, I admit I ran out and got it too. I had a similar experience as you did, I think it added good volume and it did a decent job with a curl. I still think I love my Maybelline Lash Sensational more for holding a curl, but I did like this one a lot on the whole.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, I’m kinda glad to hear you didn’t immediately fall madly in love with it either, like everyone did on YouTube! It IS a pretty darn good mascara though. Oooh, I’ve heard many good things about the Maybelline Lash Sensational but haven’t tried it yet. I’ll have to put it on my list of mascaras to try!

      Like

  2. Thanks for this! I haven’t cracked open either TF BTS or L’Oreal LP mascaras yet! I’m hoping I’ll like at least one of them. It’s encouraging that the LP seems to work just as well, if not better, than BTS at a cheaper price point. I especially like that it keeps a curl better and doesn’t smudge. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • With that being said, yesterday I wore this mascara with my sunglasses for the first time since beginning to wear it, and when I took my sunglasses off, my husband said that I had black flakes underneath my eyes. My eyelashes must have been rubbing against the lenses when I blinked and some of the mascara flaked off. Of course this happens AFTER I get my review up! Le sigh.

      They both get such RAVE reviews, you really do hope that you’ll at least enjoy one of them! Hopefully the cheaper one…haha.

      Like

  3. I’m testing this out currently and I like it a lot but it still flakes on me (Grrrrr!). Less so than the BTS though. I think it’s perhaps a little overhyped but it’s the closest mascara I’ve found to the BTS.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh BOO. I heard there was a waterproof version of this (but have not seen it myself)…maybe that is less flakey? I agree it’s probably a little overhyped, although it still is a very good mascara! Just not as sensational as everyone says it is.

      Like

  4. I don’t know how I missed this post! I saw it linked on Stashy’s blog so I had to come take a read. Thanks for the great comparison! I love TF Better than Sex but haven’t repurchased in a long time. I’m definitely going to give this one a shot the next time I need to buy mascara!

    Liked by 1 person

    • As long as you like dry formulas, this one is a pretty solid mascara whether you compare it to the TF or not. It’s kinda expensive for a drugstore mascara though – I’d recommend buying it the next time you see it on sale, and keeping it unopened in your stash until you need it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

