Empties – First Half of 2017

 

I know I’m a month too late on this, but in today’s post, I wanted to talk about my empties that I used up from January to June. Unlike most people, I finish products at the speed of a snail – maybe because of my small face and small body? I don’t know. I am seriously surprised at how little I used in the first half of this year, but I think it was just because I wasn’t very concerned with beauty for a good chunk of the year so far. One of my goals for 2017 was to use up more products than I did last year, but it doesn’t look like that will be achieved! I suppose I don’t include things like shampoo and conditioner because I buy massive bottles that are too big to keep around after they are empty, but still. Either way, I still wanted to share the empties I have used up so far.

DSC00405a.JPG

The Body Shop Fuji Green Tea Body Butter

This is technically cheating because I didn’t actually use it up. I had opened it up to use last summer, then put it away so that I could use the thicker Kiehl’s Creme de Corps body butter during the winter. I recently took this back out again with the intention of finishing it up this summer, and the smell had gone funky. That has never happened to me with a body product before – weird! Shame, because I loved the scent. When I WAS using it, I found it to be less thick than the usual body butters from TBS. It was more of a regular body lotion consistency, which was kind of strange to me.

Repurchase: Maybe

 

The Body Shop Strawberry Body Butter

This scent is a regular in my stash – it smells like strawberry candies to me! However, I think after going through all of the Body Shop body butters remaining in my collection, I’m going to start trying body butters from other companies.

Repurchase: No

 

Bath and Body Works Waikiki Beach Coconut White Sand Body Scrub

I bought this body scrub last year, but I don’t recall seeing it in stores this year. I  love this scent; it’s pure tropical goodness. This was decent as a body scrub – the “scrubby” parts are rough enough for exfoliating the way I normally like, yet the formula was still moisturizing enough, but there just wasn’t enough of the scrubby bits as in previous BBW scrubs I have used, so I wouldn’t buy it again if given the choice. Speaking of which, does anyone have a good recommendation for a body scrub? I’m currently on the hunt for one.

Repurchase: No

DSC00403a.JPG

The Body Shop Moringa Shower Gel

This is the second bottle of this scent that I have used up, and I feel the same way as I did the first. I generally enjoy the scent of this, but it gets old fast because it ends up being a bit cloying. However, I bought two of them at the same time so I had to use this up.

Repurchase: No

 

Bath and Body Works Blue Waters Shower Gel

After the second time using this in the shower, I asked myself why I bought this scent. It’s not a bad fragrance, but it’s pretty musky, which is not typically what I would go for. I tried to pawn it off to my husband because he usually refuses to use my fruity soaps and so I thought he’d like this muskier one, but no go!

Repurchase: No

 

Bath and Body Works Japanese Cherry Blossom Shower Gel

I received this as part of a Christmas present two years ago. I really dislike this grandma scent, and just used it up for the sake of using it up. It looks like basically all of the shower gels I have used up so far this year were a miss!

Repurchase: No

 

DSC00433a.JPG

Jack Black Lip Balm

This is probably my 12th tube of this. You can tell it’s loved because the label has been completely worn off! I think this one was in the Black Tea scent, which I absolutely love. I still have four tubes of this currently open (one on my bedside table, one at work, and for whatever reason two in my purse), but once they are done, I am 100% ready to try something new.

Repurchase: No

 

Maybelline The Falsies Push Up Drama Mascara

This mascara was only okay – it gave my lashes length but no volume, and certainly didn’t look like “pushed up” lashes. It also smudged on me, which is a big no-no. I did an in-depth review on this mascara here.

Repurchase: No

 

CoverGirl Lashblast Volume Mascara

I had high hopes for this mascara since it’s so loved within the beauty community. It was pretty good, but not as spectacular as I had hoped. It gave me length and didn’t smudge, but the main quality I look for in mascaras is volume, and this didn’t provide enough volume on me.

Repurchase: No

 

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper

This guy here is another regular in my empties, since I go through one of these every few months. I’m curious to try other liquid liners, but I love everything about this one so much that I’m almost afraid to try something new!

Repurchase: Yes

 

DSC00408a

Real Nature Green Tea Sheet Mask

This was a pretty standard sheet mask for me. As usual, it was too big for my face, and I also found that it was soaked with serum (which is a good thing). My face felt pretty hydrated after this, although I didn’t see any differences to my skin visibly.

Repurchase: Maybe

 

Real Nature Avocado Sheet Mask

Again, this is another standard sheet mask – to be honest, I didn’t find it any different from the green tea sheet mask!

Repurchase: Maybe

 

BB Face Mask

A friend bought this one back for me from Japan – how sweet of her! I have no idea what this was supposed to do for my skin but my skin felt like it was firmer after using it. After I took the mask off, the remaining serum on my face felt pretty sticky which I wasn’t a fan of.

Repurchase: No

 

SAMPLES

DSC00434a.JPG

Shiseido Benefiance Extra Creamy Cleansing Foam

If you are a long-time reader of my blog, you’ll know this is one of my all-time favourite facial cleansers. However, I’m trying to branch out, so I currently won’t rebuy. Let’s be honest though, I know eventually I’m come running back to this!

 

Shiseido The Skincare Extra Gentle Cleansing Foam

This was also one of my favourite cleansers that was left over from an old GWP, but Shiseido discontinued the The Skincare line a while back so I wouldn’t be able to purchase it even if I wanted to. This is my last sample of this – I’m so sad!

 

Shiseido Full Lash Volume Mascara

I got this with a GWP last year and I hated it. It gave me neither full lashes nor volume, but I just used it up anyways.

That’s it for the first half of the year! Have you used any of these products? What did you think of them?

10 thoughts on “Empties – First Half of 2017

  1. I don’t love the CoverGirl mascara either! I had it years ago and loved it, and then tried it again a couple months ago and it was not good. Something must have changed with the formula, maybe? Trooper is awesome! I need to get that one again 😊

    Like

  2. My gosh, I’ve used up in July than you have at 6 months! Both are probably not a normal speed to go through things ha!
    The only thing I’ve tried from your empties is the tattoo liner which controversially I hated! Found it wasn’t pigmented and smudged so quickly on me! I wondered whether I bought a dodgy one, but I don’t dare buy it again in case I hate it as much as the first!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lately, I’ve been finding that TBS body butters to be inconsistent across the board. They used to be my fall back body butters but not anymore.
    I picked up the Bath and Body Works Waikiki Beach Coconut scrub this year but it’s called Salt & Sand scrub. I hope it’s better! 😛
    Yes, it seems like most of your body product empties are sucky… what gives!?
    You know what’s funny – just as you’re moving away from the Jack Black lip balms, I’ve come to appreciate mine more! 😛 I’ve been using mine (grapefruit) more lately and I like how long it lasts, plus the SPF.
    Too bad the CoverGirl Lashblast Volume Mascara doesn’t provide you with enough volume I find it to be that perfect amount of volume without edging over to clumpy.
    You used 3 masks in 7 months?!! 😆
    Sorry to hear about Shiseido discontinuing your cleansing foam. Have you tried the Shiseido Benefiance Extra Creamy Cleansing Foam? It’s my fav!

    And yes, I think it’s because of your smallness that you used things up slower! 😛 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohh good, glad it’s not just me. I think I’m over the TBS body butters too!
      Oooh I hope you like the body scrub. It’s not bad but not my favourite either.
      The Jack Black lip balm is definitely good, ESPECIALLY for the SPF. After so many tubes of it, I think I just need to try something new! I should probably pick up the CO Bigelow ones that you liked…
      I want to give the CoverGirl Lashblast Volume another try, since so many people love it. Don’t you hate it when other people rave about a product that doesn’t work for you?
      Ha, as opposed to you who used 30 in one month!I’m so bad at using face masks! I hate the shock of how cold they feel when you first apply them on your face, LOL. And I find that they don’t feel like they do much to my skin??
      Yes, I LOVE the Extra Creamy Cleansing Foam. I started using that after the The Skincare got discontinued and now that’s my fave too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

