Makeup I’m Bringing on My Honeymoon

If you’ve seen any of my “What I’m packing on vacation” blog posts, you will know that I’m rather over the top when it comes to packing for trips. I always thought that when we went on our honeymoon, I would be able to bring a slew of cute outfits and accessories, not to mention all the makeup I own so I have unlimited choices. My husband informed me a month ago that the airlines we’re taking between France and Italy are on budget airlines, which have very strict luggage policies. We (okay, he) decided it would be best to take a carry-on travel backpack with us on our two-week trip. Cue the horror! I can’t even go on a local weekend trip using just a backpack, let alone a two-week trip in Europe.

I grumbled for a bit, but was ultimately up for the challenge of condensing two weeks of my belongings into a 35L backpack, so today I wanted to show you what I’ve decided to bring. Hopefully this may help or inspire any fellow heavy packers out there to try packing more lightly for a trip!

For the first time ever, I’ve been super into base makeup – it’s because the Becca Backlight Primer looks amazing underneath my foundation, and I’m addicted. However, I HATE wearing foundation in the summer because it feels gross when my face melts from the heat, SO I have decided to forego foundation.

 

DSC00454a

MAKEUP

Brows – Anastasia Brow Wiz

I used to take my Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade on vacation, but that requires me to bring the pomade AND a brush, so I think it’s just easier bringing a pencil. This one is super handy because it has the spoolie on the other side as well.

Eye Shadow – Inglot Quad

I made this quad when I went to Inglot last year, and I love it because it has everything I need for a simple but complete eye look. However, the lid colour does not look great on my skintone, which is why I’m also bringing…

Eye Shadow – MAC Eyeshadow in Satin Taupe

My be-all-and-end-all eyeshadow. I can wear this on its own for a one-shadow look, or with the other shadows for a more put-together look!

Eyelashes – Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler

I’ve used this for YEARS. It’s a staple in my makeup routine and I can’t go on vacation without it.

Eyelashes – L’Oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise

I was going to get lash extensions before our vacation so that I wouldn’t 1) have to bring an eyelash curler and 2) add the extra step of doing my lashes every morning, but lash extensions did not end up happening. As a result, I’m bringing the Lash Paradise with me, which I just did a review on two weeks ago.

Eyeliner – Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper

This is my my HG liquid liner that never wears off , which means that will be perfect for the hot weather in Europe.

 

 

DSC00519a

Face Makeup:

Concealer – NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Custard

Even though I’m not bringing foundation, concealer is an absolute necessity for my undereyes and for spot concealing. This is close to being finished – I think it can go in my empties once the vacation is over!

Face Powder & Highlighter – Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

I thought about taking a separate setting powder (Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder) and highlighter (Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal), but the chances of me messing around with a highlighter while we’re rushing to go sightsee is probably slim. I thought it might be a better idea to take this palette instead, since it has both an all-over face powder and a highlight in it.

Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray

I will definitely be needing this to set my makeup so that it lasts all day in the hot weather! It might be good for spraying on my face just to cool off too.

 

DSC00457a

NYX Blush in Taupe

This might seem a bit over the top, but I use this contour shade every single day, so it’s become a bit of a must-have in my makeup routine, and I’d feel wrong to go on vacation without it.

Surratt Beauty blush in La Vie en Rose

Unlike previous holidays, I’m not bringing a blush palette with me this time, hehe. I bought this blush last year but it just sat in my stash until May of this year. Since opening it up, I have been absolutely LOVING this blush so much. I’m a little worried because the lid slides off and isn’t very sturdy for travel. I’m going to try tying some hair elastics around it, and hopefully that will help make sure the lid doesn’t come off while it’s in my bag.

DSC00525a

 

Lipstick – MAC Lipstick in Twig

I bought this lipstick during Black Friday last year, but I only recently started using it, and now I’m obsessed. It’s the perfect ‘my lips but better’ shade for me, and it needs to come on this trip with me.

Fragrance – Jo Malone Nectarine Blossom & Honey Cologne

This is pretty extra, since I don’t usually bring perfume on vacation with me, but I REALLY want to bring this. I wrote a blog post on how this was going to be my wedding scent because I’ve always worn it for special occasions, including when my husband proposed to me, but guess what? I was so rushed on my wedding day that I completely forgot to wear it. So now I’m DETERMINED to wear it on our honeymoon. The room in my liquids bag is prime real estate, but I will make it fit!

DSC00487a

SKINCARE

I used to take skincare samples every time I went on vacation, but I’ve realized that my skin breaks out every. single. time. I’m on vacation (whether it’s from being on the plane, not being used to a different climate, a bad vacation diet, or a combination of all of those things), so this time I’m sticking with the skincare products I use on a daily basis. I always bring my tried-and-true makeup products with me on vacation – why wouldn’t I do the same with skincare?

Mask – Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask

This is a deluxe sample size of the mask that came from a kit I bought on Black Friday last year. I saved the last bit to use while we’re on vacation.

Exfoliator – Origins Modern Friction Nature’s Gentle Dermabrasion

This came from the same kit as the charcoal mask, and I also saved the last bit for vacation. Both products have about two uses remaining.

DSC00484a

Mask – Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask

Same explanation as the two products above!

Moisturizer – Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream

I’ve been using this face cream every day for the past 6 months, so I’m definitely taking this with me. Obviously this bottle is humongous, so I’ve emptied it out into a small jar.

Eye Cream – Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Eye Cream

I usually use this as a daytime eye cream because it’s pretty light, but since space is limited and it’s summertime, I think this will work as both a day and night eye cream.

Makeup Remover – MAC Cleanse Off Oil

You’re probably so sick of seeing this cleanse off oil on my blog. Obviously this is my ride-or-die makeup remover, so it’s coming with me. Again, this is a big bottle so I poured some into a sample-sized bottle to take with me.

Face Cleanser- Shiseido Benefiance Extra Creamy Cleansing Foam

This is a sample size of one of my all-time favourite face cleansers, so it’s perfect for travel. I think I have just enough to last me through the trip, and then I can throw it out.

Sunscreen – La Roche Posay Anthelios Mineral Face Sunscreen

I purchased this sunscreen two months ago and I have really been enjoying it. It is a mineral sunscreen and is tinted so it doesn’t leave a white cast like traditional sunscreens usually do.

I might be cheating a little because there are a few things, particularly liquids, that my husband is packing for the both of us (body sunscreen, toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, and hand sanitizer), but otherwise I managed to fit all of this in my backpack along with all of my clothes and shoes, with a little extra room to bring souvenirs back for family and friends! What is a must-have makeup item for you when you travel?

21 thoughts on “Makeup I’m Bringing on My Honeymoon

  1. I went carry-on only for the first time ever for our Montreal trip last month and I was really worried about it (dramatic much?) and it was actually totally fine – I had room to spare in my suitcase even (my liquids bag was another story – seriously why are those bags so damn small?) So I’m very inspired by you for doing this for 2 whole weeks! That said, you seem to have chosen wisely and it seems totally do-able! I won’t be mentioning this to my husband though haha!

    Liked by 4 people

    • Lmao, I feel you, girl! I was totally being dramatic too – I said to my husband “why are you doing this to me 😥”. 100% agreed, fitting everything into the liquids bag is a serious life struggle, hence why he’s carrying all the shared liquids like sunscreen and shampoo/conditioner. Yes, do NOT give your husband any ideas! 😂

      Like

  2. Yes things are pretty strict over here in Europe! Everything has to be under 100ml (even the containers are meant to be, so be careful with your MAC one) I’ve had to throw things before because they’ve been slightly over even though they’ve not been full.
    You look like you’ve got a good selection of bits to keep your makeup interesting, and no doubt you’ll pick something’s up along the way too!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Have a lovely trip!! I agree with sticking with what you normally use for skincare, my skin breaks out too when I switch things up so it’s best to just avoid that. It’s so hard deciding what few things to bring, I’m backpacking South America soon and the tour company said “don’t bring Makeup”. Like what!? How can I not bring any makeup xD

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I like how this has forced you to pack lighter! 😉 You know me and travel packing, hehe! I think forgoing foundation saved you a good chunk of precious space. 🙂
    Satin Taupe is often my top choice for “no-brainer” colour when I’m on vacation too! You can dress it up or down.
    Have you had lash extensions before? Why did you end up not getting them done?
    The idea of bringing a blush PALETTE is crazy to me! 😛 I’m glad the Surratt blush is good enough to be your sole blush shade for TWO WHOLE WEEKS! 😆 And omg ONE lipstick?! 😱
    I’ve had that La Roche Posay Anthelios Mineral Face Sunscreen before – it’s great. And I find the coverage to be like a tinted moisturizer, almost.
    My must have item for travel is concealer – I usually just bring one and I can even skip foundation. 🙂
    Enjoy your honeymoon! 😍

    Liked by 3 people

    • You are a great inspiration for traveling lightly! 😝
      Yesss, Satin Taupe is so versatile. I was going to depot it into my MAC palette but it’s way better as a single to bring on trips!
      I’ve gotten lash extensions once, two years ago. I loooved the way they looked! I didn’t end up getting them this time because I just kind of ran out of time before the trip, and I’d spent a lot of money getting my hair coloured last week and didn’t want to spend more money on my lashes 😝 plus they’re kind of high maintenance in the sense that I can’t use oil based makeup remover! Have you ever had them??
      Hehe I admit a blush palette is overkill 😂 I thought about bringing Twig and then a bright lipstick for two different looks, but the bright lipstick is just going to end up being too fussy!
      Yes, exactly – so nice that the sunscreen is tinted. Even more reason not to bring a foundation.
      Good call, concealer is an absolute MUST on trips!
      Thank you, Stashy! 😘

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

