Nail of the Week: Formula X Neutral Nails

Today I wanted to share the latest nail colour that I’ve been sporting. This is a Sephora Formula X polish in the shade Spiked, which Sephora calls “mink bisque”. Basically, it’s a medium brownish-taupe shade in a creme finish. This particular polish came from a Sephora holiday set of mini polishes, which was gifted to me by a friend during Christmas last year.

I’ve been wearing a lot of neutral crème polishes in the last year (due to a job change), and I’ve been getting really sick of it. However, one of my coworkers said this shade looked very “sophisticated”, haha. Spiked needed 3 layers for full opacity. The first layer was super streaky, which is likely due partly to the nature of neutral crème polish formulas, and also partly to the size of the brush. The second layer was generally good, although there were still a few nails that I felt needed one extra coat.

The thing with minis is that the brushes tends to be a lot smaller. This is especially the case as more and more companies are coming out with polishes that have big brushes, so we’ve (or at least I have) started to become used to it. Below is the size of the Formula X mini compared to a regular Essie polish, as well as an H&M polish. As you can see, it’s much smaller compared to both, but you can really see the difference when comparing to the H&M brush, which are gargantuan, haha. While I prefer wider brushes myself, I don’t find the brush size too problematic to apply polish – any streakiness can be fixed with adding an extra layer.

img_3227a
Essie brush vs Formula X mini brush

 

img_3228a
H&M Brush vs Formula X mini brush

 

The featured image is what my nails looked like freshly painted. This is what it looked like after 7 days of wear (the shade of the polish in this photo is more accurate):

Jpeg

The polish is still super shiny! I attribute this to the top coat I use, the Sally Hansen Insta-Dri. As usual, there is some regrowth gap and a slight amount of tipwear..and again, the chip  in the corner of my pinkie! This is the fourth time I’ve photographed my hands, and this chip is in the same place every time. I’m now convinced that it’s from typing. Since the last time I posted a Nail of the Week post, I’ve noticed that I put a lot of pressure on my left pinkie every time I use the Shift key – I think this may be causing the chipping.

I’m currently wearing something dark on my nails now, and I think I might have to take a break from neutral nails for a bit! What nail polish are you currently wearing?

20 thoughts on “Nail of the Week: Formula X Neutral Nails

  1. These kinds of mute rosey creme shades are my favourite! I never get sick of them! 😛 I tend to stay away from mini polishes simply because of the brushes but I do have a few – I have one of the Formula X from a 100pt perk in a nice putty creme shade.
    LMAO your pinkie chip – we need to put a GoPro on your pinkie to find out the cause!
    Post vacay I’m rocking Essie Marshamallow, a sheer white shade – I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rosey crèmes are definitely my favourite shades of neutral polish too! I think I just came to the conclusion this year that I’m not one of those gals who can wear neutral polishes 365 days of the year. I like the idea of minis because who can ever finish a full-sized bottle of nail polish, but the brush situation isn’t ideal 😛
      LOL, I’ll let you know if I can find a veryyy mini GoPro to strap on my pinkie. I feel like the pinkie chip needs to be named now, since it makes a weekly appearance.
      Oooh, Marshmallow is a good one! Whites always look so pretty on everyone else, but I can’t get them to work for me, even sheer ones.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like it! I just recommended Angora Cardi to you on your most recent post and now that I see this and that you’re bored of neutral polishes, you might not like it. It’s pretty similar but maybe a slightly more pink.

    I really like Essie polishes but I HATE their brush – I find they really encourage streaks! I like a wide brush because depending on the formula you can get away with one coat if you’re lucky.

    I wore a red polish on my nails last week and I hated it. If I’m going to wear a red polish it needs to go on my toes. I don’t know what it is but I don’t like red polishes on me. I tend to lean towards more neturals and the occasional dark polish in the fall – and I really like grey shades! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • No no, thanks for recommending Angora Cardi! I just need a break from wearing neutral polishes…doesn’t mean I don’t still love them and want to collect more, hehe (one can never have too many neutral polishes, am I right?)
      Agreed, wide brushes are WAY better, especially as so many drugstore polishes have wide brushes now…Essie, step up your game!
      100% agree with you on wearing red polish…red belongs on the toes! I replied to one of your comments yesterday saying how Essie Plumberry turned out to be way more red than anticipated…disappointing! Grey shades are always so chic – a little dark but still neutral 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

