Liebster Award

Last month, I was nominated for the Liebster award by the lovely Jani V of My Life in Med School. Go follow her if you haven’t already! She has various posts about makeup, fashion, and not surprisingly, her journey through med school!

I found it extremely difficult to come up with interesting facts about myself…maybe that means I’m not very interesting 😛

The rules of this award:

1. Acknowledge blog who nominated you and display award;

2. Answer 11 questions the blogger gives you;

3. Give 11 random facts about yourself;

4. Nominate 11 blogs;

5. Notify them of the nomination;

6. Give them 11 questions to answer

Jani’s questions for me:

1) Who do you admire the most?

I’m going to sound cheesy, but the older I get, the more I admire my mom. She makes being an adult and a good mother look so easy. I also admire younger celebrities in public positions who use their fame to speak up for causes they believe in – just to name a few, people like Emma Watson, who is an advocate for gender equality,  or Ashton Kutcher and Blake Lively, who speak out against the sexual exploitation of children. Not that older celebrities (Bono, Angelina Jolie, George Clooney, etc.) don’t support important causes and do a lot of good too, but the younger celebrities more easily access their audience through social media, and also hit a younger, more impressionable demographic.

2) What have you learned about life in 2017?

Thus far in the year, I’ve learned a lot in terms of my attitude in approaching life. I would say I’m generally a pessimistic person. There have been a few personal things that happened this year so far that haven’t been great. However, it has made me extremely thankful for everything that I have in my life, and to learn not to sweat the small stuff. It’s made me realize that every “normal” or uneventful day should be considered a good day, and it has just reiterated the fact that family always comes first, no matter what.

3) What is your favorite ice cream?

Hello, it’s ice cream, how can you not love it all! I honestly don’t think I have a favourite flavor. Off the top of my head, I love pistachio, green tea, earl grey, and salted caramel. I love trying unique flavours like honey lavender or cereal milk, etc. In general, I prefer creamy ice creams versus ice creams with chunks in them (like Rocky Road, Rolo, etc, etc.)

4) Where do you want to travel next?

Our next trip is for our honeymoon – we’ve booked two weeks in Paris and Italy during August. I’m super excited because I fell in love with Paris when I went at the age of 18, and have always wanted to go back with my fiancé. He’s just excited because it’s Europe, period, and he’s never been. Other than that, we’ve semi-decided that next year we might go on a cruise with our parents, since my parents keep asking to go on a vacation with us! We’ve never been on a cruise, so it should be interesting to see whether we like it or not.

5) What do you want most in life?

This question is so deep! I guess I just want to be happy, regardless of where my life goes.

6) Who is your favorite designer?

Hmm, this is tough because I don’t buy super high-end designers like Chanel, Dior, or Burberry, etc. We recently opened up a Ted Baker store in one of our malls just before Christmas, and I’ve been in love with all of the clothes there lately. I enjoy Kate Spade, too – I love the bows and all the girly designs of the brand.

7) Flats, heels, or sneakers?

I’m caught between heels and sneakers. Heels cause they look great, and sneakers because they are so comfy. I’m not a fan of flats – I find they’re always pinching my feet in some way or another.

8) Favorite animal?

dogdolphin.png

Dolphins! I love the ocean, and I’ve always loved dolphins because they seem so intelligent and happy all the time.  On a less exotic note, I also really love dogs and am on a (failing) campaign to own one.

9) Movies or TV Shows on Netflix?

Not sure if this question is asking if I prefer watching movies or TV shows on Netflix (the answer is TV shows), or if it’s asking what I’m currently watching on Netflix. I currently just started Santa Clarita Diet – I was on Season 6 of The Walking Dead, then I took a break to watch 13 Reasons Why, and when I finished 13 Reasons Why, I couldn’t go back to TWD because I was binge-watching too much darkness and depression. So I decided to watch something light like Santa Clarita Diet instead.

10) What did you study in college (or want to major in)?

I did a business degree and majored in Accounting in college. I promise you, we’re not as dowdy or dry as the media portrays us!

11) What is something you wish someone had warned you about?

Maybe this isn’t so much as a “warning”, but I wished high schools took the time to teach useful things to teenagers that will help them in every day life, particularly financial literacy – how to make a personal budget, what RRSPs and TFSAs are, how to file your taxes, and how and why you need to save for retirement, etc. etc. I learned a lot from my parents and also on my own throughout college and am continuing to learn, but not everyone has the same opportunities as me to learn.

Okay, now onto 11 Facts About Myself:

  1. 6 years ago, I broke my right baby toe jumping into the pool. And no, I didn’t jump into the shallow end – still mystified to this day as to how it could have happened!
  2. I’m terrified of spiders.
  3. I’ve had a pet turtle since I was 4. He doesn’t have a name, because I wasn’t into naming things as a kid, so he just never got one.
  4. I’m an only child.
  5. I love Disney. LOVE IT. I would be that person that goes to Disneyland or Disneyworld every weekend if I lived close enough.

MTMyMjE2ODgzMzkzODkzNjUw.png

6. People think that because of my chosen career, I’m good at math. Math was my worst subject in school. Accountants use calculators and don’t have to know how to use the Pythagorean Theorem!
7. I grew up playing the piano, and I had a very strict teacher that wouldn’t let me wear nail polish. The second I finished my essons (when I was 18), I wore nail polish on my fingers pretty much at all times. Gotta make up for lost time, ya know?
8. I owned a rescue dog growing up, and I would like to one day own another rescue.
9. I grew up (and still live) right next to the Rockies and I hate winter activities like skiing, skating, etc. What a waste!
10. I’m really bad at cooking and baking. I own a bunch of baking cookbooks (mostly thanks to my fiancé), and I love sifting through them to look at the beautiful photos of these gorgeous cakes, but I can’t bring myself to try making them because then I’ll have to eat my terrible creation.
11. My favourite food is potatoes. I don’t care how they’re made, I love them all.

6974e7a2130afb97cad48d27cc2a815a.jpg

I nominate

Adryana from Adryana’s Beauty Blog
Nicole from Pretty Ruff Life
Dannii from A Beautiful Thing
Stash Matters
Robyn of Lipstick on the Lake
Rachael of Helpless Whilst Drying
The Beauty Sanctuary
Amy from The Makeup Case
My Style Inside Out
Ingrid from Curly Spring Blossom
smudges

 

My 11 questions for you are:

  1. What do you like the most about your blog?
  2. What is your earliest memory?
  3. What are you most proud of?
  4. We all have a specific type of makeup item that we are too weak to resist (eg. eye shadows, blush, etc). What’s your weakness?
  5. What was your favourite travel destination?
  6. What is the best compliment someone has ever given you?
  7. What song are you loving right now?
  8. What is one thing you’ve always wanted to learn?
  9. What’s one beauty brand that is difficult for you to access and you really want to get your hands on?
  10. What is the “weirdest” thing you’ve ever eaten?
  11. If you won $1M in the lottery, what would you do with the money?

19 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Aaw thanks so much for the nomination. I loved reading more about you😊 I went to Paris at 18, I hated it but that was due to bad company😜 My partner is keen for us to go together which I’d love to do. Where in Italy are you going?😊 I also admire people who focus on raising awareness of issues and good causes. Xx

    Liked by 2 people

    • It would be interesting to see if you like Paris more with your SO, or if you’re just not a big fan of the city! I know quite a few people who don’t like Paris – they say it’s dirty and there’s too many pick pockets. In Italy, we are going to Venice, Rome, Pompeii, and then doing part of the Amalfi Coast for a few days (Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, and Capri). It’s a lot, we’re going to be tired when we come back!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think it could have been the company. I was with a boyfriend I’d only been with a matter of weeks and I found out he was super annoying😂 I think Paris can look that way in some places but so does London. It’s a large city so some parts are prettier than others. Oh that will be so nice. The first holiday me and my SO went on together was to Rome. We loved there and Capri😊 We nearly booked Venice for May this year and we really want to do Pompeii and Amalfi. That’ll be a busy but amazing trip!😊 xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I live 90 minutes from Walt Disney World and went every other weekend the first year I had an annual pass. Found out you can get burned out on it though. Last time I had a pass for a couple years and I’d go once a month – sometimes just for a day trip and sometimes for a couple days and stay at an inexpensive hotel near WDW. Last year I got to go 3 times for free as I have a friend who’s a cast member at Disneyland Paris that was working at WDW for a year as part of their exchange program. They offered to hook me up with gate passes a few times and who am I to say no to that! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m always so jealous of your frequent trips to WDW! It would just be so nice to take your leisurely time at the parks knowing you can go again whenever you want, rather than dashing around the parks like a madman trying to fit everything in within your vacation.

      Like

      • Even living close by I tend to go commando sometimes. Just a habit because the adrenaline gets going and… yeah. 😂 My boyfriend & I are planning a weekend trip within the next couple months. He’s never been to the parks with me (we’ve done Disney Springs a few times together though). Poor guy is in for it. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s so true about uneventful days being a good thing. I do often say, “well, at least nobody died!” as a joke but it’s actually so true.

    Have you tried black sesame ice cream? If not, GO GET SOME NOW. Our new favourite is GRAPE ice cream. I know, crazy, right? Just imagine grape pop in ice cream form. There’s this ice cream place near us that makes it. It’s the only place we’ve ever seen it.

    So excited for your trip! Mostly, about Italy. 😉 What part of Italy are you visiting? And well, you know my thoughts on cruise life! XD

    Ted Baker has the sweetest dresses! I always look but never buy though.

    Aww the fiance isn’t keen on pets? We both want cats and dogs but our condo and current lifestyle just isn’t conducive to one. One of these days!

    I’m gonna copy and paste #11 for my SO, he will love you forever. ❤

    I enjoyed reading your 11 facts! I had no idea you were an only child. That explains a LOT. j/k 😉 Is your pet turtle big now? I want to see a picture! I used to be obsessed with owning a turtle until someone told me they are really dirty and could transfer diseases to humans. 😮 But I still have a soft spot for turtles, especially the huge ones at the aquarium! Haha, people always assume I'm no good at math but I'm better at doing math in my head than my SO. 😛 Potato lovers unite – I ate gnocchi tonight for dinner!

    Thanks for nominating me! I haven't done a tag / award post in AGES.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, you’re exactly right about uneventful days being a good thing! Especially as we age – parents and relatives get older, friends also get older, and more prone to sickness/accidents, etc, etc.

      Yes, I LOVE black sesame ice cream! Have NOT tried grape though, or seen it anywhere, that sounds delicious! A friend of mine moved to Toronto recently and texted me a pic of her HK milk tea gelato at Kekou the other day, which you recommended to us last year…so, so jealous.

      In Italy, we are visiting Venice (1 day), Rome (3 days), and parts of the Amalfi Coast (3 days). We gave up going to Florence for the Amalfi Coast because we wanted to fit a little bit of beach in, so hopefully it’s good. Hah, I DO know your thoughts on cruise life! I don’t think it would be our top choice for a vacation either, but it would be a good one to go with parents…maybe.

      I’ve only bought one item of clothing from Ted Baker! I mostly look too – our office is too casual for their clothing.

      He actually loves dogs, he just doesn’t want to OWN one. His family has a dog and when he lived with them, he was the only one who took care of it, so he’s really enjoying our current responsibility-free life when it comes to pets.

      Hah, some people always say they can tell right away that I’m an only child and others say I seem like I have a sibling! Yes, our turtle is big now! I used to have two, but the other one died a few years ago 😦 Omg, I LOVE sea turtles too! Haha, I wish I had the ability to do math in my head – got too spoiled with calculators! Does your SO love potatoes too? They are so versatile XD

      That is exactly why I tagged you! I’m pretty sure you’ve done the Liebster Award before…

      Like

  4. Thanks for the nomination! I loved reading your answers, dolphins are my favourite animal too!

    I would totally be at Disney World every weekend too if I lived close enough. I went in 2011 and I’ve been dying to go back, but I’m trying to be good and wait until the Star Wars park opens.. but it seems so unbearably far away!!!

    You’ve asked some really great questions, I’ll get cracking on those shortly, I don’t think I’ve done a tag in a long time! But… I have been SO inconsistent with blogging lately.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. We went to Italy for a long weekend the first time last year and absolutely loved it. You’re going to have an amazing time. Just seen – especially jealous of Sorrento!
    I’m thinking about booking a surprise trip as a present for Ben for a wedding present to go back somewhere.
    I wish I lived closer to a Disney too, we almost did a Florida Road Trip as part of our honeymoon so I could go back to Disney, even though Ben hates theme parks and rides (that’s love that it was even his suggestion to do that me haha!).
    My sister always loved Dolphins, We went to Sea World and told everyone she wanted to be a Dolphin Trainer, not so many opportunities for that in the UK though ha!
    I’ve just written up my answers, thank you for the nomination!
    Rachael Helpless Whilst Drying

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I swore I responded to this but it looks like I didn’t – so thank you for the nomination!

    You are going to have such an amazing time on your honeymoon – I’ve been to Paris and Italy and loved them both but Italy was my favourite. We were in Paris for our anniversary and we did a dinner cruise on the Seine – I’d recommend that!

    It was great to learn more about you!

    Like

Leave a comment