Proposing to my Bridal Party

Today is another wedding post, although it does include some beauty products! I recently asked my closest girlfriends to be in my wedding party. While guys keep it nice and simple and just verbally ask their friends to be the best man/groomsmen, there has been a recent trend for brides to “propose” to their friends when asking them to be in the bridal party. My lovely friends would say yes regardless of whether I did anything extra, but I thought they might appreciate a little something special. I kept it really simple because I wanted to save the nicer things for the bridesmaid gifts, which they will get at the rehearsal dinner the day before the wedding.

We’re getting married in 2017 and our wedding colours are dusty blue and blush. Yes, those are basically the Pantone Colours of the Year for 2016, but I decided they were going to be our wedding colours in the summer before he even proposed (not creepy at all) and wasn’t willing to change them just because they became the ‘it’ colours…although when the topic of the Pantone Colour of the Year came up between my fiancé and I, and he found out this was actually a thing, he said, “But our wedding colours are going to be soooo last year!” 😛 Anyways, I thought I’d make my proposal centered around our colours. For the most part, it turned out general blue and pink instead of our specific shades of pink and blue…so this gift can also work if you’re announcing that you’re having a set of twins, one boy and one girl 😛

For the bridesmaids, I included:

IMG_2778a

  1. Macarons, one in each of our wedding colours. The macarons ended up being more mauve (raspberry) and seafoam (blackcurrant) because they were safer flavours. There was a true blue that was ‘blue cheese with pear and pecan’ flavour. This sounds intriguing to me, but I imagine this flavour can be rather hit or miss depending on tastes, so I thought it best not to take that risk 😛

 

IMG_2782a2. A ‘Will You Be My Bridesmaid/MOH’ card with a note written inside for each of the girls. I found some free printables online, and printed it on pearlescent paper that I bought from Michaels.

 

IMG_2781a3. Small cutouts with wedding colour inspiration, to give them an idea of what we’re trying to go for. I got these from Pinterest and printed it on the same pearlescent paper, which apparently photographs funny – I guess the pearlescent quality of the paper makes it look grainy on camera!

4. A piece of paper with additional/miscellaneous information (I didn’t take a picture of this being it’s boring and includes personal info). This included what they can expect from me, their budget expectations, as well as what I would like their help with. I stole this idea off of my MOH when she got married. It seems super intense, but it’s unbelievably uncommon to have issues between brides and bridesmaids – literally every married friend I know has a story about having issues with at least one of their bridesmaids along the way! :/ A single piece of paper isn’t going to resolve that, but at least it puts us all on the same page and I don’t ask them to buy $500 dresses when they are only willing to spend $50 (or something).

For the bridesmaids, I holepunched the corners of all the loose papers and used a white ribbon to string them all together along with the bag of macarons, so it became a little package. Forgot to take a picture of this!

I ended up including two additional items for the Matron of Honour since she is one special lady. I bought a plain white gift box, lined it with pink gift wrap, and put all of them same items that the bridesmaids got into the box. The two additional items I included in her package were:

IMG_2779a

  1. Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment in Tulip. My MOH loves wearing red tinted lip balm (I think it’s from Nivea), so I thought she might enjoy the Fresh lip treatments. The Fresh range had many reds, but they were either too sheer or too opaque, so I settled on Tulip, a medium pink I think she will like (unfortunately I couldn’t swatch this since I was giving it away!) The packaging is hot pink and doesn’t match our wedding colours; the shade Petal in the same range was a better match. However, the lip colour for Petal is nude, and I’d rather buy something my MOH would enjoy, rather than something that matched our wedding colours 😛

Jpeg

  1. Sinful Colours Nail Polish in Cinderella: A great recommendation from the lovely stashmatters. My MOH loves super sparkly polishes, so I had originally set out to find a light blue shade with tons of sparkles…which is apparently really, really hard to find! It appears that light blues are usually creme finishes, and sparkly blues are usually darker shades of blue. This polish is a happy medium because it has subtle orange-pink shimmers in it. I figure she can always add sparkles as a top coat to it, anyways.

It was a lot of fun putting these packages together. Obviously a proposal is not at all needed, but if you do come up with something, it doesn’t have to be expensive at all! I’m so excited to have these girls embark on this wedding journey with me.

9 thoughts on “Proposing to my Bridal Party

  1. Oh my gosh! I didn’t know you have to PROPOSE to the bridesmaids like this! That’s ridiculous… honestly. But I guess it’s also kind of fun, the way you made it. The fact that there’s a free printable CARD with the proposal makes me laugh!
    Haha as if anyone would think in 2017 about your wedding theme colours being the Pantone colours from 2016 – if they do, then they’re idiots! 😛
    Good call with the blackcurrant flavour on the macarons because EWWW blue cheese with pear and pecan would be a NO GO for me.
    And yes… the budget and expectations between the bride and bridesmaids are always a source of tension! I’ve know friendships that have been broken up because of this! I refuse – REFUSE – to get involved into this INSTITUTION of weddings. Ugh sorry I’m always a wedding planning pooper! 😛 I am learning a lot from your posts though lol.
    But yeah Sinful Colors in Cinderella! 😀 Glad you found a suitable shade and I hope your MOH likes it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha, one does not HAVE to propose to their bridesmaids. It is rather silly, and I don’t know how this trend started. I wanted to do it and thought they might appreciate it though, so all good! At least I printed my cards for free instead of buying a $8 one from Etsy 😛

      Hahah he was just making a joke about our wedding colours being “out of date” – I don’t think he could care less if our wedding colours were mustard yellow and poop brown, let alone the 2016 Pantone colours!

      Blue cheese with pear and pecan certainly sounded…interesting. I wanted to buy one for myself to see what it tasted like, but chickened out 😛

      That is SO not good that you know of friendships that have been ruined over a freaking wedding!! People are CRAZY. I would be heartbroken if I lost friends over our wedding, so I hope I’m not going to be like that.

      Hahaha I don’t mind at all that you’re a wedding planning pooper…weddings aren’t for everyone. Honestly, if I wasn’t an only child with parents that want us to have a “proper” wedding, we would be eloping and using our wedding budget to go on a luxury honeymoon.

      Thank you for the recommendation for Cinderella! I was tempted to buy one for myself because it was so inexpensive haha. I may go back!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I’m SURE you will be fine! I don’t get the vibe that you’re not communicating with your bridal party or have unrealistic demands. Some people are just very self centered…
        Hmm I guess the pressure is on for an only child! I’m just thankful we don’t have any pressure or expectations. It’s so true though heh, weddings are usually for OTHER people, not for the bride & groom!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Who knows! Weddings make people crazy…maybe my inner Bridezilla is going to make a surprise appearance 😛
          You two are so very lucky you don’t have anyone breathing down your necks about marriage. Ugh, I could go on a RANT about this topic. Friends keep telling us to do things the way we want, but it’s easier said than done. Not that we’re not excited to get married, but it’s been a real reality check in terms of adjusting to the idea of this wedding being for other people and not us. Well, this conversation just got real positive…hahaha.

          Like

  2. This is soo cute and I love your colors!!! I did something very simple! I got everyone a personalized gift and printed a little card that said “will you be my BM/MOH?”.
    Thankfully they were all amazing and I had no issues at all.
    Wishing you the best on the journey that is wedding planning. Feel free to msg me if you have any questions or just need advice/to vent.
    XO
    -Jani

    Liked by 1 person

    • The gift you got them sounds awesome! Personalized items are always so special. Congrats on getting married 🙂 So glad to hear the day was wonderful and all of your bridesmaids were there for you.
      Thank you for the well wishes, I definitely will take you up on your offer! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

