Nail of the Week: Essie’s The It-Factor

Today’s post is on the nail polish I’ve been wearing for the past week. I was due for a nail polish post because I haven’t done one in a quite a while, and this is also a polish that’s new to my collection and will appear in my April low-buy post at the end of the month. Until now, I actually had left my nails bare for the past 3 weeks, which is SO unlike me! My nails had been peeling a lot, so I wanted to give them a break.

While I would usually wear a pastel shade on my nails over Easter, I was in Las Vegas over the weekend with a girlfriend, and I cannot help but want to have bright nails every time I’m in Vegas. I realized right before our trip that during my nail polish decluttering, I had thrown away the nail polish I had in mind because it had become all gloppy and I just didn’t love it anymore, so I actually ended up buying another nail polish. A trip is a perfect excuse to own a new nail polish, am I right?

IMG_0049a.JPG

I looked briefly at Essie’s regular line of nail polish, but I ended up walking away with a shade from Essie’s Gel Couture line because I prefer the formula and the brush to the regular line. I already reviewed a Gel Couture polish here, so I won’t go too in depth about the packaging in this post. The polish I chose was the shade The It-Factor, which Essie describes as a “fascinating bright fuchsia”. This is a bright raspberry shade in a crème finish. It’s bright without being neon, which was exactly what I was looking for. I used Essie’s Grow Stronger base coat underneath and Essie’s Gel Couture top coat on top.

IMG_0045a.JPG

The formula is smooth and very easy to work with. As is tradition before a trip, I did my nails in a rush between finishing packing and going to bed. I felt like I was sloppy with my application, but the results did not come out as a streaky mess or with any bubbling. Two coats gave me full opacity, but if you are the type of person who is really careful at applying nail polish, even one coat will suffice.

This is what the polish looked like on me yesterday, which was after 7 days of wear.

IMG_0039a.JPG

Besides my pinky, which has its usual pinky chip, my ring finger is noticeably more worn out than the other fingers. I had wanted to use a nail wrap on my ring finger as an accent nail. Well, I did a terrible job of applying the nail wrap, so I had to take it off. By this point, it was getting late and I was already supposed to be in bed, so I just repainted that finger with The It-Factor polish and didn’t bother applying a top coat. This is why the polish didn’t last quite as well as the other nails, and although you can’t really see in the photo, but it’s also less shiny than the other nails. The other three fingers lasted decently. There’s some tip wear and regrowth gap, both of which are only noticeable up close.

What are you currently wearing on your nails?

14 thoughts on “Nail of the Week: Essie’s The It-Factor

  1. Woo, that’s BRIGHT! Looks great on you. And it’s the perfect shade for a fun long weekend away. 🙂
    What design was the nail wrap for the accent nail?
    Haha Tina makes an appearance again, even in Vegas!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

