Glamglow Mud Mask Review

Today I wanted to give you a review of my experience with the Glamglow range. Because these masks cost a pretty penny, I wanted to talk about how they worked for me, in case any of you were sitting on the fence about making the splurge.

I bought mine in a gift set at Sephora last Christmas. For $75, I got a full-sized 1.7 oz (50g) jar of Thirstymud Hydrating Treatment, and 0.5 oz (15g) each of the Youthmud Tinglexfoliate Treatment and the Supermud Clearing Treatment. This was a good chance to try it, seeing as how one full-sized jar of any of the masks is $75 alone. Basically, you are getting the smaller sample-sized jars for free when you buy it as a set. This gift set was only available during the holidays, but worry not – I believe they have released gift sets every Christmas, and Holiday 2015 should be no different.

Thirsymud Hydrating Treatment, Youthmud Tinglexfoliate Treatment, Supermud Clearing Treatment
Thirstymud Hydrating Treatment, Youthmud Tinglexfoliate Treatment, Supermud Clearing Treatment

The Youthmud Tinglexfoliate Treatment is a mud mask. As the name implies, this gives your skin a gentle tingly feeling when you put it on. This product is pretty strong, so I only use it once a week for about 10 minutes to exfoliate my skin. I love the clean smell of green tea in this one, and there are black particles in the mask which I believe are green tea leaves. When I’m washing the mask off, I’ll move my hands in circular motions across my face to use the tea leaves as additional exfoliation. I feel like it really does a good job at exfoliating my skin, as it definitely feels smoother and looks brighter the next day after using this. It doesn’t cause irritation, or make my skin to get drier than it normally is. The Youthmud mask is my second favourite in the set.

Next up is the Supermud Clearing Treatment. This product can be drying since it’s a clearing treatment and contains acidic ingredients, so I only use this once in a while when my skin is feeling a bit clogged up. I also use this one for about 10 minutes, as a spot treatment on places that have more visible pores (nose, cheeks) and on breakouts. I feel like this draws out the dirt in my pores, makes them look less visible, and helps to shrink the size of my breakouts. This one also gives me a tingly feeling when applied, but it stung a couple of times when I used it during the winter and my skin was super-dry. It has a slight peppermint scent, which some people might love, but I’m not a fan of (I don’t like mint in anything except toothpaste and gum!).

Lastly, my favourite of the three – the Thirstymud Hydrating Treatment. My skin is very dry, and this feels like a tall drink of water for my face. As you can tell from the picture of the swatches, this one is not a mud mask. It has a delicious coconut scent that reminds me of tropical island goodness. I use this one about once a week, I still have about half of the jar left after using it since December. You can either use this on your face and wipe off after 15 minutes, or keep it on all night as you sleep – I usually do the latter, since my skin is so dry. It leaves my skin feeling supple and smooth for the entire day.

To summarize, are these masks a miracle product? Like most skincare products, no they aren’t. On my skin, they don’t provide any long-lasting benefits, but they are great at making your skin look radiant and feel soft and supple in the short term. Perhaps if you used them more often, you would see lasting results (the Sephora website suggests that people who used these products 3 days a week saw benefits), but in my personal opinion, the two mud masks are too harsh to be used so often.

For my own needs, I would not purchase the Youthmud or the Supermud masks in the full size, but I would splurge on the Thirstymud again, or even another one of these gift sets, once I run out.

Have any of you tried these masks? If so, what are your thoughts on them?

4 thoughts on “Glamglow Mud Mask Review

  1. I’ve stayed far away from these masks because I know my skin will freak out from the ingredients – eucalyptus and peppermint oil are no-nos for me! But I imagine these would be great for someone who can tolerate those ingredients.

    Like

Leave a Reply

