First Impressions: Tarte Tartelette Eyeshadow Palette

First of all, Happy Thanksgiving to all of my fellow Canadians! I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner and enjoyed spending some time relaxing with your loved ones. Things at work have been crazy lately, to put it lightly, so I was extra grateful for the long weekend!

Today I wanted to do a first impressions on the Tarte Tartelette palette, which I picked up recently. To be honest, I already own enough eyeshadow palettes to last a lifetime, and I don’t need any more. I also love all things sparkly, and tend to go for shimmer and satin shadows. However, I’ve been wanting to get into matte eye looks and had taken an interest in the Tartelette palette since it came out in the spring, but kept talking myself out of it until now!

A lot of matte palettes came out around the same time as the Tartelette palette, so I did a lot of research figuring out which one was right for me. I decided on the Tartelette palette because it has a good mix of warm, cool, and neutral tones, whereas many of the other matte palettes generally leaned towards warmer shades.

First of all, can we talk about how cute the packaging is? I love the gold font with the purple background. The Tartelette Amazonian Clay palette contains twelve matte shadows. I find that matte shadows tend to be more powdery than other finishes, but these Tarte shadows were generally pretty smooth to apply. Some of the shades are stiffer and more powdery than others, but they were all easily layered for more intensity and fairly easy to blend. I also found that many of the colours applied better on the eyes than in swatches, which was most likely due to the use of eyeshadow primer when I had tried different looks on my eyes. If you plan on getting this palette, definitely use a primer first!

This is a minor detail, but I really loved the names of the shadows, which I believe are adjectives meant to describe empowering women. Marketing ploy? Sure, but I still enjoyed it nonetheless. I also liked that they put the shadow names on the palette itself instead of the plastic overlay, which I usually throw out.

Free Spirit (Warm Cream) – This barely shows up on my skin tone, but it has decent pigmentation and the texture is smooth.
Force of Nature (Reddish-Brown Tan) – The colour payoff for this one is great, and also has a pretty soft texture.
Dreamer (Warm Brown) – Texture is silky and has above-average pigmentation. It was opaque in one pass.
Multi-Tasker (Chocolate) – Texture of this shadow is slightly dry and has good colour payoff. It also looks very similar to Dreamer, in my opinion – just slightly darker and slightly more cool-toned


Caregiver (Pale pink) – The shadow feels silky but only has average colour payoff; however, the colour can be built up with more layers
Natural Beauty (Cool Mauve) – This has an almost creamy texture, and had amazing, rich pigmentation – one of the outstanding shades in the palette.
Best Friend (Mulberry) – Texture was fairly smooth. The colour payoff was only decent, but it can be built up for a more intense shade.
Bombshell (Dark Plum) – This shade was opaque in one pass, but texture is very dry to the touch and rather powdery.


Super Mom (Ivory) – Powder is very silky and nicely pigmented in one pass
Wanderer (Light Brown) – Texture was smooth but slightly powdery; however, it is still fairly easy to work with. Able to layer to build up colour for more intensit.y
Power Player (Taupe) – Texture was smooth but also slightly dry. Required some layering to get to opaque.
Fashionista (Jet Black) – Texture was buttery and pigmentation was stellar. The darkest, most pigmented black shadow I own.

In my opinion, if you want a matte palette that gives you more options than the Urban Decay Basics palettes, and you want more than just warm shades to choose from, then this is the palette to go to. I would say that if you have darker skin, some of these shades aren’t going to show up on you very well. I am excited to continue using this and see what else I can come up with! Hopefully I will be able to blog about some eye looks using this palette sometime soon.

7 thoughts on “First Impressions: Tarte Tartelette Eyeshadow Palette

  1. […] While I bought this palette at the end of 2015, I felt like I did not fully begin appreciating this palette until 2016. I now use at least one shadow from this palette in almost every makeup look I do, although in the last few months, I have greatly enjoyed using this palette on its own as well. I do admit that a few of the lighter shades (first column) are more powdery than I would prefer, but overall, this has been a solid palette that I relied on heavily in the year. Review for this is here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

