October-December Empties

Today’s post is on all of the items I used up from October to December, as well as a summary of my empties for the year. I was shocked at how few products I used up in the last last three months of the year, even compared to the usual small amount I tend to finish on a quarterly basis! I think it was because I was busy trying out so much new stuff, particularly in November and December, that I didn’t really end up using much 😛 I’ve been continuing to try using up my Shiseido samples, so you’ll see a lot of those in this post. My Q4 empties is pretty BORING, but I think my 2016 empties summary may be a little more interesting.

IMG_3517a.JPG

The Body Shop Satsuma Shower Gel and Grapefruit Body Butter

There’s not much to say about this except that as always, the Body Shop shower gels and body butters are constants in my empties. Satsuma and Grapefruit are two of my favourite scents from The Body Shop, too, so I will definitely pick up more of these as my collection of body care goes down (maybe in 2020).

IMG_3519a.JPG

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper

I noticed in the pictures of my Matte Taupe Eye Look post that my liquid eyeliner was skipping, which meant that it was drying up. I already picked up a new one as a replacement during the VIB sale.

Urban Decay 24/7 Pencil Liner in Zero

I promised myself that I would throw this out when the eye liner became as short as the lid (since it gets too short to be able to hold properly), and lo behold, I hit this mark in December. I’m not buying black pencil liners for a while, since I still have a few that haven’t been opened yet.

Shiseido WrinkleResist24 Eye Cream

Okay, I don’t know what happened with this eye cream, because I usually finish eye creams SO. SLOWLY. But I somehow finished this in four months! My eye area was super dry this fall and winter, so I think I just slathered this on. I don’t think I’m going to rebuy this right away, as I have other eye creams to get through, but it’ll eventually be replenished because it’s an HG eye cream for me.

IMG_3522a.JPG

Shiseido Benefiance WrinkleResist24 Balancing Softener

To be honest, I don’t know how I feel about this softener – it’s neither good or bad. I wouldn’t be opposed to using it again (and I think I will have to, since I have more samples of this), but I don’t think it did much for my skin.

Shiseido Full Lash Volume Mascara

I didn’t love this mascara. I didn’t feel like it provided particularly great length or volume – it was just okay. I don’t think I’d buy it in the full size.

Shiseido The Skincare Hydro-Nourishing Softener

I really love this softener, but alas, The Skincare line has been discontinued from Shiseido for quite a while – this was a leftover sample size that I received as a GWP a few years ago, but I think it’s the last of my stash 😦 It feels very hydrating, even before I put on my moisturizer on top.

Shiseido Bio-Performance LiftDynamic Serum

This was my first time trying this serum. First of all, this was WAY too thick for this type of packaging! I had to constantly store it upside down, otherwise it would never come out. I didn’t like this serum – it was somewhat moisturizing, but I could only use it at night because it balled up under my foundation.

Shiseido The Skincare Instant Eye and Lip Makeup Remover

I have used this makeup remover many times and I hate it. Although it’s an oil-based remover, it takes SO much of the product to wipe off my makeup, and even then, I feel like it still hasn’t done a good job of taking my makeup off.

Anyways, here is my quick and dirty summary of my 2016 empties:

empties

I finished a total of 47 products in 2016. Not that much, but it’s actually more than I had expected! Not surprisingly, most of the items I finished were body and hair care, as well as samples. Because I don’t use up very many products, I think for 2017 I will only do semi-annual empties posts. It’ll certainly be interesting to see if I will finish a little more next year!

11 thoughts on “October-December Empties

  1. Is Kat Von D Tattoo Liner your favourite? I’m thinking of giving it a whirl. Right now, it’s between that or the Lancome bendy liner.

    I’ve been using my eye creams a LOT too. It’s been super dry. I’m totally “meh” about Shiseido toners – nothing that something half the price can’t do. Ha, I’m using a sample size of the Shiseido makeup remover right now – I don’t find that I need an abnormal amount of product, but I find it leaves an oily film.

    Good job on the empties! I like the table. 😀 I’m thinking that I need to up my body moisturizing game and apply twice a day? I think that’ll help me get through more body products. #protip

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, the KVD liner is my favourite liquid liner I’ve tried so far! You’ll see it in my 2016 favourites coming up next week 😉
      I’m SHOCKED I haven’t finished the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery you sent me yet, even though I’ve been using it almost every day since…April-ish.
      Agreed on the Shiseido toners…not worth the money! So funny that we can have such different experiences with the same product – the makeup remover doesn’t leave an oily film on me!
      LOL, you already get through a lot of body products! But yes, applying twice a day would definitely do the job!

      Like

Leave a Reply

